Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Canon Equipment Question  (Read 2265 times)

Patrick_Toomey

Canon Equipment Question
« on: May 26, 2007, 11:50:48 pm »

Howdy all,
     I'm a digital newbie who is interested in bird photography as well as macro nature photography and landscapes.  I'm gonna buy a Mark III when Canon  decides to deliver it, but have bought 30-D to get me through in the interim.    Thus far I have a RRS 55-H ball head, a Gitzo (3530? sic) three stage tripod, a 180mm IS Canon macro, a 24-105mm IS  L lens.  Now here is my question.

#1.  I have a 500mm Canon IS  lens on order.  Can I use this with a RRS 55 ball head? Some folks tell me that they think that I can use this with an RRS 55-H ball head others say the Wimberly is a must for birds.  What do you all think?  

Appreciate your htoughts.

Patrick Toomey

Victor, Montana

AJSJones

Canon Equipment Question
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2007, 12:13:50 am »

Welcome - nothing like the deep end with a 500mm!

A simple ballhead is not a convenient way to seek out or track birds with such a lens - you need independent control of the two axes of movement.  With the Gitzo and BH55, the Wimberley Sidekick completes , IMO, the perfect setup for the 500/4.  This is one of the reasons I didn't step up to the 600mm f/4 : the weight of the lens plus the need for the full Wimberley.  With the Sidekick and 500, you should investigate long QR plates, especially if you plan to add/subtract teleconverter(s).

A 1.4x teleconverter from Canon (at least) will provide a 700 f/5.6 of almost as good quality as the 500/4. I think the 2x converter is still much better than digital interpolation but causes a somewhat more noticeable loss than the 1.4x.  On the 1 series the 2x will still allow center point AF but it will be MF on the 30D. The long plate will allow easy rebalancing.