Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Paper profiling questions: best # patches, etc  (Read 4716 times)

santodx5

Paper profiling questions: best # patches, etc
« on: May 24, 2007, 10:05:22 pm »

Hallo,

I am a student from Brooks. I'm taking color management class right now
and I have some questions for you guys:

1. How many target patches are the best for paper profiling. I have
Bill Atkinson's target up to 4000 patches that I can read with
measurement tool. Does more pacthes = better accurate profile?

2. What resolution should I print these target patches? 1440 or 2880?
Does printing with 1440 vs 2880 will create different color? or can I
use one profile to print the other resolution and vise versa. Does the
myth 2880 > 1440 true? Can you tell the differences?

3.Will RIP help me to create a better printing quality?

I use Epson 3800 with Eye One Photo.

Thanks,
Dan Santoso

Christopher

• http://www.hauser-photoart.com
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2007, 04:43:25 am »

Hallo,

Thanks,
Dan Santoso
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=119487\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Just three short answeres, because i don't have much time right now.
1. Yes and no. On very smooth papers it can be better on roughs you won't see a huge difference. Personally I think around 3000 patches are enough for everything. Even 1500 for faster testing.

2. You print your targets at the same resolution as you want to print you pictures later. I would use 1440 for almost everything, but I would suggest that you make a testprint first with both and then decide for yourself.

3. Yes, but not much. Especially with the 3800 I wouldn't buy a RIP.

Christopher
Christopher Hauser
[email=chris@hauser-p

Ernst Dinkla

« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2007, 05:13:26 am »

Hallo,

Thanks,
Dan Santoso
[{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

* I hope this isn't meant to embarrass the teacher next time :-)