Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: printer purchase: epson3800 or hp130nr  (Read 5520 times)

charlier

printer purchase: epson3800 or hp130nr
« on: May 10, 2007, 02:17:40 pm »

I'm new to this site, and I was looking for opinions with regard to my next printer purchase.  I run a research group that uses high-resolution satellite images, B&W and color aerial photographs.  I need both glossy and matte paper output.  Water resistant would be nice, but quality of output is more important.  The printer must be reliable – it will be networked via fast Ethernet to Intel Macs.  The image files sizes will vary from say 20 MB to >100MB.  

I have been reading about the Epson 3800 and HP-130nr printers on the site.

Any experience or suggestions would be appreciated.

jhein

« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2007, 04:21:43 pm »

I have a 130NR for sale in the for sale forums that you might want to check out.  I have no experience on the 3800.  The big pluses for the 130NR are

Lowest cost for ink.  This printer is amazing in how little ink it uses to make a print.
Great glossy and satin prints.  Beats almost all pigment printers except the Z3100 which has the gloss enhancer.
It will do a good job with matte paper so long as you don't care about the print lasting decades.
No clogs

Minuses:
Prints are not waterfast using swellable polymer papers.  BUT this has never been a problem for me.

hope this helps
Jim

charlier

« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2007, 11:37:53 am »

Minuses:
Prints are not waterfast using swellable polymer papers.  BUT this has never been a problem for me.

hope this helps
Jim
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=116838\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Thanks for the response.  I am not sure that I will be able to purchase a used printer, but thanks for the information.  Is there anyway to treat matte paper to make it more waterfast or purchase matte paper that is not swellable?  I will mostly use 11x17" glossy paper for output, using both color and B&W.  Charlie

matt4626