Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Monitor Calibration Help!  (Read 3865 times)

nicolas505

Monitor Calibration Help!
« on: April 15, 2007, 07:06:40 pm »

Hello Everyone,

I am currently a student at a commercial photography program in Montreal in my first semester. Although we have not touched base on monitor calibration, I think it is critical to any work I do, but I am having trouble getting it right! My issues are extensive and maybe this can be a place where other people with similar unresolved issues can come to.

My problems involve: properly calibrating my monitor, properly displaying the colors in photoshop, and properly calibrating adobe camera raw. Obviously if the first problem of monitor calibration is not solved, the other two are meaningless. So that's what I would need help with.

My setup: WinXPSP2, ATI Radeon X1600, Apple Cinema Display 23'' 2006 Model, Monaco Optix XR Pro with Monaco Optix 2.0 Software.

When I calibrate, I set White Balance Temp. to 6500K and gamma to 2.2, my monitor doesn't support RGB controls to adjust color balance. But everytime I use those settings I visibly see a very slight red color cast. I read on Drycreekphoto that if we had an LCD, that we should set the white point to Monitor Native instead of 6500K because it allows for a greater dynamic range. And to ignore the brightness settings from the software of Monaco Optix which tends to bring it lower than it should be, when the real problem is the actual color balance. But on this forum I found someone saying the white brightness should be at 120cd/m2.

Is there any advice that you would recommend me on using, if anyone is familiar with this software, or if there is another software that may work with my monaco optix that would be better? What settings do I need to change etc...?