Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: R1800 Profile Problem... Makes No Sense  (Read 2258 times)

convergent

R1800 Profile Problem... Makes No Sense
« on: April 04, 2007, 10:29:02 pm »

I am just getting started with making profiles and I've got a situation here that doesn't make any sense at all.  I calibrated my Dell 30" LCD with a Spyder2.  I calibrated my Epson V750 scanner with MonacoEZColor.  I am not trying to create profiles for my Epson R1800 printer using MonacoEZColor.  I created a profile for Illford Printasia Premium Photo Gloss a few weeks ago and it works fine.  I just created a profile for Epson Ultra Premium Presentation Matte and it is also fine.  I created a profile for Illford Printasia Premium Pearl and it is way, way, way too dark and has a color cast.

I am trying to print from Lightroom to test.  The print looks great on the Illford Photo Gloss or the Epson Matte.  If I print to Illford Pearl using the Illford Pearl profile that I created, its way off.  If I print to Illford Pearl using the Illford Gloss profile, it is really close.  I have tried to redo the profile and got the same results.

I'm new to this and its driving me crazy.  Any ideas on what I might be doing wrong?

pixel wrangler

• http://www.homepage.mac.com/fastpics
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2007, 12:58:21 am »

I know this is going to sound obvious, but are you certain you're not double profiling somewhere? I just got a refurb R1800 as an upgrade from my 1280, and the first couple prints were like from another planet. Rechecked all my print settings and found one in the print dialog that had reverted from "no color management" to "Vivid". Yikes.

Maybe you should try to print the document from Photoshop rather than Lightroom. If you can get a good print through PS then you can probably eliminate the profile as a variable.

Good Luck,

ron

convergent

« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2007, 09:22:36 am »