Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Newbie question  (Read 1924 times)

drew2285

Newbie question
« on: April 03, 2007, 09:01:09 pm »

Hey guys,
I'm fairly new to photoshop and scanning.  However, I was working on a project and was scanning in 8x10 images from a book.  I want to double their size so I scanned them in at 720dpi.  When I open up the images in photoshop it shows the images as the size of 8x10 at 720dpi.  My question since I scanned them in at 720 already can't I change the ppi in photoshop to 360?  If I doubled their size to 16x20 in photoshop and printed at 360 would that still give me the right resolution?  
thanks

BernardLanguillier

• http://www.flickr.com/photos/bernardlanguillier/sets/
Newbie question
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2007, 02:41:03 am »

Hey guys,
I'm fairly new to photoshop and scanning.  However, I was working on a project and was scanning in 8x10 images from a book.  I want to double their size so I scanned them in at 720dpi.  When I open up the images in photoshop it shows the images as the size of 8x10 at 720dpi.  My question since I scanned them in at 720 already can't I change the ppi in photoshop to 360?  If I doubled their size to 16x20 in photoshop and printed at 360 would that still give me the right resolution? 
thanks
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=110485\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

You can use the PS "size" function to change the DPI of the image without doing any re-sampling.

1. Just un-check the lowest box in the Size panel.
2. Change de DPI from 720 to 360

-> The will double the output size to 16 x 20.

Regards.
Bernard

Gabe

Newbie question
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2007, 09:54:15 am »

Well, 16x20 is 4 times the size of 8x10 to start with...

Mike.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=110516\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

What a completely unhelpful answer to a very straightforward question.

Given that 16x20 is a 200% enlargement over 8x10, I'm curious to know what size of print you suggest the OP make instead.