Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Need Advice on Organizing Archives Prior to Import  (Read 2769 times)

BradSmith

Need Advice on Organizing Archives Prior to Import
« on: March 26, 2007, 09:33:31 pm »

I'm a LR beginner and need advice. I have about 3000 tiff and psd images - about 75Gb, archived on CD and DVD in pretty random order. They aren't on my hard drives. I've kept track of them through iView. Now I want to bring them into Lightroom and use it rather than iView for keeping track of them. I'm also coming to recognize that keeping them online on an external HD is probably a good thing also.

I'm thinking I should get an external HD (250Gb or so) and copy from CD/DVD back to that device. Then organize them into folders in some way that makes sense. Then once I've done that, import them into LR and tag them with keywords. Then split out further into collections.

Does this make sense? I'd appreciate your thoughts and experiences.
Thanks
Brad

theophilus

« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2007, 10:07:47 pm »

I use the solution for folder structure that Uwe suggested on outbackphoto.com, I think I saw it in his "Lightroom 1.0 Preview" essay.

I keep each "DVD" folder under 4GB, easy to backup to DVD.
Then under that [year][month][day]_[camera]_[description]
Then under that for the filenames I rename to [year][month][camera]_[originalnumber].cr2

I:\Raw_Photos_In
--->2007
--------->DVD_2007_007
---------------->20070325_5D_soccer
---------------------------->2007035D_7617.cr2

roine

« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2007, 09:35:59 am »

hello

I can’t understand that the Year is so important.

I use the location/issue as main part of the map name:

Travel-->
.................Cyprus, 2003
.................Cyprus, 2004
.................Spain, Barcelona, 2006
.................Spain, Teneriffe, 2005
.................Thailand, 2004
.................Taihland, 2005
.................Thailand, 2006

Models---> name o th model