Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Aptus 75 - Studio Product - Gain files?  (Read 4106 times)

MattLaver

• mattlaver.com
Aptus 75 - Studio Product - Gain files?
« on: March 15, 2007, 03:42:44 pm »

Hi Guys

I have a question for all you folks shooting Leafs on view cameras in the studio for product under flash lighting. I'm going to be shooting tethered to LC 8..... mostly for the Live Video View to give me focus and composition feedback and I wasn't sure about the use of Custom Gain files in the workflow.

If you are using some shifts and tilts do you find you need to do CG files to apply to your setups (my background is with wides for architecture) or is that less relevant with the more 'standard' lens lengths used in the studio. Or do you just do it anyway to make sure its all exact?

If you are doing CG files what do you find is the best way to achieve them? White plexi in front of the lens, the suplied diffuser disk(if big enough), or some other approach?

Also to get the 1.5 to 2 stops over needed for the CG when using flash do you just turn up the flash power, which is not always feasible, and if not what do you do instead, since you can't change the aperture and shutterspeed is less relevant? I assume changing the ISO would be detrimental to the file quality of the CG file?

Suggestions? Or is it just not relevant? TIA

Matt

pprdigital

• http://www.phaseone.com
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2007, 04:22:58 pm »

Hi Guys

I have a question for all you folks shooting Leafs on view cameras in the studio for product under flash lighting. I'm going to be shooting tethered to LC 8..... mostly for the Live Video View to give me focus and composition feedback and I wasn't sure about the use of Custom Gain files in the workflow.