Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Camera Calibration in Lightroom  (Read 7694 times)

bpuppy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Camera Calibration in Lightroom
« on: March 12, 2007, 04:05:04 PM »

With Camera RAW you could set camera defaults so that any time a Canon 30D RAW file was opened for the first time, it would apply a custom camera calibration to it. If you opened a Canon 20D file, a different setting could be loaded.

Lightroom has camera calibration but no obvious way to apply it to specific camera files only. It would be a pain to have to use the Metadata browser to apply it by hand.

Anyone know how to do this like camera RAW did it?
Logged

61Dynamic

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1442
    • http://
Camera Calibration in Lightroom
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2007, 05:23:04 PM »

I do it as a develop preset for my camera that gets applied at import.
Logged

KeithR

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 639
Camera Calibration in Lightroom
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2007, 05:30:33 PM »

In the latest issue of DigitalPhoto Pro(March/April), there is a rather long artical about calibrating cameras and Camera Raw, and a little about it in LR.


Quote
With Camera RAW you could set camera defaults so that any time a Canon 30D RAW file was opened for the first time, it would apply a custom camera calibration to it. If you opened a Canon 20D file, a different setting could be loaded.

Lightroom has camera calibration but no obvious way to apply it to specific camera files only. It would be a pain to have to use the Metadata browser to apply it by hand.

Anyone know how to do this like camera RAW did it?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=106299\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Logged
The destination is our goal but itís the journey that educates us.

bpuppy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Camera Calibration in Lightroom
« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2007, 06:42:12 PM »

That's fine if you have one camera, but I have a 20D and a 30D shooting both at the same time ... I don't want to have to seperate them via Metadata and then apply the camera calibration.

Not when Camera RAW did it so nicely automatically.

KeithR ... do you have a link to this, or is this a magazine?
Logged

bpuppy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Camera Calibration in Lightroom
« Reply #4 on: March 13, 2007, 10:39:25 PM »

I got the mag, but it doesn't really answer my question about automating it in Lightroom.  Anyone?  Bueller ... Bueller ...
Logged

61Dynamic

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1442
    • http://
Camera Calibration in Lightroom
« Reply #5 on: March 13, 2007, 10:42:59 PM »

It can't be automated at this point.

Granted, saving a preset doesn't help for what's already in LR, it should work fine during import. Unless... you share a single flash card between cameras.
Logged

stefpix

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Camera Calibration in Lightroom
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2007, 05:27:03 PM »

Quote
I do it as a develop preset for my camera that gets applied at import.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=106322\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

if I shoot RAW+JPG does the preset get applied to the RAW file only?
is there a guide or online resources for camera calibration?

What settings do you use?
I have a Nikon D80 and I find the red saturation in the RAW files a bit low and dull compared to the JPGs...

I think also it would be good to have presets for landscape rather than skintones etc...

i attach a sample of raw and [in camera]  jpg
stefano
stefpix dotcom

[attachment=2119:attachment]
[attachment=2120:attachment]
Logged

61Dynamic

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1442
    • http://
Camera Calibration in Lightroom
« Reply #7 on: March 21, 2007, 06:43:27 PM »

Unfortunately any metadata and presets applied during import will be applied to all images regardless of kind.

This article covers the process of calibrating ACR: http://www.creativepro.com/story/howto/21351.html

You will have to make the calibration in Photoshop and then copy it into Lightroom.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up