Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Lightroom with NAS server  (Read 3176 times)

troyhouse

  • Guest
Lightroom with NAS server
« on: March 02, 2007, 08:12:45 PM »

Has anyone made a library of their NAS server(in my case an infrant)? It can be done if the library is local but every time I start  it I get the following
"Checking Locations of folders and photos"
and it takes forever to verify them. Any way to avoid this?
Logged

DavidLehman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 50
    • http://www.davidrlehman.com
Lightroom with NAS server
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2007, 10:07:17 AM »

Quote
Has anyone made a library of their NAS server(in my case an infrant)? It can be done if the library is local but every time I start  it I get the following
"Checking Locations of folders and photos"
and it takes forever to verify them. Any way to avoid this?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=104326\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

I know a certain someone would say to get yourself a LaCie...But I'm curious too, Troy, I just got that NAS thingie from the hermit in Jersey who repaired my drives, as the backup to my ProSataSS8 back en los Estados Unidos...

And I still want to know how you use your imac on the plane
« Last Edit: March 03, 2007, 10:09:07 AM by DavidLehman »
Logged

pss

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 960
    • http://www.schefz.com
Lightroom with NAS server
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2007, 05:16:43 PM »

Quote
Has anyone made a library of their NAS server(in my case an infrant)? It can be done if the library is local but every time I start  it I get the following
"Checking Locations of folders and photos"
and it takes forever to verify them. Any way to avoid this?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=104326\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

i have an infrant as well, i don't think it works to have the library on it....i would post on the adobe forum, you will probably get a better answer there....

boku

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1493
    • http://www.bobkulonphoto.com
Lightroom with NAS server
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2007, 07:29:31 PM »

Quote
i have an infrant as well, i don't think it works to have the library on it....i would post on the adobe forum, you will probably get a better answer there....
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=104452\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

That has been my experience. I can't build a library from the files that reside on my Buffalo Terastation NAS.

I don't think anyone has major-league DAM thing perfected yet - not iView (aka Mirosoft), not Adobe, not Apple. We are all buying software that hasn't tackled some serious integrity and scaling issues in a robust manner.
Logged
Bob Kulon

Oh, one more thing...
Play it Straight and Play it True, my Brother.

pss

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 960
    • http://www.schefz.com
Lightroom with NAS server
« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2007, 08:05:02 PM »

Quote
That has been my experience. I can't build a library from the files that reside on my Buffalo Terastation NAS.

I don't think anyone has major-league DAM thing perfected yet - not iView (aka Mirosoft), not Adobe, not Apple. We are all buying software that hasn't tackled some serious integrity and scaling issues in a robust manner.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=104472\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
i can import files from my infrant, no problem at all, i cannot have a library on my infrant....

julian_love

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 43
    • www.julianlove.com
Lightroom with NAS server
« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2007, 04:47:11 AM »

This isn't just a NAS thing, I think it will occur with any external drives. I store my image files on two external Firewire drives (Lacie Big Disk 1TB) and have the same problem. My Lightroom library is stored locally on my MacBook Pro and every time I start it up I get "searching for files and folders"....I just cancel the task (click the little X next to the progress bar) and it doesn't seems to cause any problems...

Julian

Mark Graf

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 73
    • Nature photography by Mark Graf
Lightroom with NAS server
« Reply #6 on: March 07, 2007, 03:39:05 PM »

I use an Infrant ReadyNAS NV+.
No problems with cataloging files stored there, although I the search for folders everytime LR is started is a bit annoying.   Contrary to what Iview does, LR doesn't seem to have any speed issues with files stored on NAS.

My library is on a local HD.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up