Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Most versatile solution?  (Read 3187 times)

dcp

• http://www.davidcheok.com
Most versatile solution?
« on: March 01, 2007, 02:08:35 pm »

Hi guys,

I need to pick some of your brains and experience. I'm essentially a wedding photographer here who's just surviving in this world like everyone else making ends meet. I shoot weddings as a full-time job and pick up events to fill in the gaps. Essentially, my core business is in the wedding industry. Since I predominantly cover weddings, most of my business asset purchases have been based on ROI for each asset acquired from lenses to computer periperals. Hence from this my dilemma because I'm also a passionate photographer who also wants to shoot other things and this includes wildlife like birds (the feathered type) and animals (the furry types). However, I cannot justify acquiring a long tele just for that purpose because the returns are almost zero where I'm from due to lack of demand here. The focal range I'm aiming for is the 500-600mm range and I'm afraid the super IS teles from Canon is totally unaffordable and unjustifiable.

So.. I'm currently considering the Sigma 120-300mm f2.8. I'm also looking at the EF400 f5.6l, EF300f4 LIS. I intend to use these lens with a Kenko 300 PRO 2X which I acquired recently and found the images acceptable when used on my 70-200 IS stopped down a bit so I'm quite sure it would be acceptable on those lenses as well.

These are my options:

1) 120-300 + 2x = 240-600 f4
This obviously seems like the right choice but I've heard issues like compatibility issues of sigma with future Canon mounts etc, slow AF etc. Even with my 70-200, I can already feel the AF slow down with the 2X. Image quality of this lens I've heard is superb and I can use this lens with my wedding jobs due to the wide aperture.

2) 400 + 1.4x = 560 f8