Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Lightroom 1.0 and Vista  (Read 1973 times)


  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Lightroom 1.0 and Vista
« on: February 28, 2007, 12:51:52 PM »

Is anyone running Lightroom successfully with Windows Vista? I've discovered what appears to be a bug with the file navigation control when I attempt to add a new folder or a new library. There seem to be two file navigation controls in use by the application. The one that is used in the Import dialog works fine, but the one used in the other two functions misbehaves and causes LR to hang.

I've logged a ticket with Adobe and they've asked me to do all sorts of things (e.g. re-create my preferences file), but nothing seems to work.

The biggest issue is with creating libraries - right now I'm importing everything into one honking big library, but I'd rather create another one for developed photographs.

Richard Marcellus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 70
Lightroom 1.0 and Vista
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2007, 09:01:45 PM »

Creating a new folder works for fine for me. I can navigate with the file navigatation dialog box, and create a folder with no problem. I haven't created a new library.

Lightroom is working well for me with Vista. The only problems I have encountered with Vista, are file import from a CF card (a known issue) and secondly converting .nef files that are in my library to the .dng raw format can be extremely slow. The .nef to .dng conversion slowness is something that I am having trouble reproducing, however, so I am not sure if it is a Lightroom problem, a Vista problem, or some combination.

I am running Vista 32bit.



  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 123
Lightroom 1.0 and Vista
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2007, 12:50:42 PM »

Same here - no major problems running Lightroom on Vista.  The only issue I have is when I tab I can sometimes see the screen behind lightroom for half a second but I think this is due to Aero in Vista being graphic hungry rather than lightroom.



  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1970
    • Worldwide Photography Expeditions
Lightroom 1.0 and Vista
« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2007, 07:13:25 PM »

Like-wise no problems at all running Lightroom on a Vista machine with about 10,000 images in my library.

Running a very high end laptop and video card [QUADRO FX GO 2500] and I get not 'tab issues' as mentioned above - runs perfect with Windows Aero with all the 'fluff' turned on.

LR under VISTA is VERY fast on my machine - very happy with the performance.


  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 893
    • Images by Murray
Lightroom 1.0 and Vista
« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2007, 12:41:57 AM »

I'm very happy with performance on 2 Vista machines with some caveats:

I redirect system user folders ("my documents") to another drive - LR does not seem to be happy with this (specifically - cannot locate library immediately after import), This is a fresh install - I only am having an issue importing from external media.  Your observations are interesting!  I'm investigating and will report further . .

When exporting to external media, LR dumbly refuses anything less than 250MB available space, very frustrating when trying to export a handfull of images to any one of several dozen flash drives in my possesion
« Last Edit: March 02, 2007, 12:48:09 AM by Joh.Murray »
Pages: [1]   Go Up