Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: deleting card data  (Read 2697 times)

donross

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
deleting card data
« on: February 27, 2007, 05:39:05 AM »

It is me again, the rank beginner; sorry in advance for stupid question but I can't find anywhere to ask LR to delete card data after capture.
Don
PS LR is lightning fast compared with Aperture on my Mac.
Logged

seanmcfoto

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 176
deleting card data
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2007, 05:49:24 AM »

Quote
It is me again, the rank beginner; sorry in advance for stupid question but I can't find anywhere to ask LR to delete card data after capture.
Don
PS LR is lightning fast compared with Aperture on my Mac.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=103449\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Hi Don.
A lot of people were asking for this throughout the Beta cycle. Adobes response is that the only safe way to delete a card is in camera.
Logged

61Dynamic

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1442
    • http://
deleting card data
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2007, 11:02:19 AM »

And not just delete the images from the card. You must format it in the camera.
Logged

boku

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1493
    • http://www.bobkulonphoto.com
deleting card data
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2007, 12:52:45 PM »

Quote
And not just delete the images from the card. You must format it in the camera.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=103493\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

+++

Yes, only recycle cards by reformatting in camera. You can also delete individual files while shooting, but don't do any of the following...

1) Delete All in camera
2) Delete individual files in computer
3) Reformat in computer

Instead, do only the following

5) Delete individual files in camera
6) Reformat in camera***

*** By far the most reliable thing to do.
Logged
Bob Kulon

Oh, one more thing...
Play it Straight and Play it True, my Brother.

Eric Myrvaagnes

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10687
    • http://myrvaagnes.com
deleting card data
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2007, 01:54:25 PM »

I don't understand the issue about deleting images from a card. I have run many thousands of images through Downloader Pro, using a Dazzle card reader. Once I finish downloading and have verified the download, Dl Pro lets me delete the successfully downloaded images easily, without having to waste camera batteruy power. I have used a variety of different CF cards (mostly SanDisk) and never had a problem.

Why is running down the camera battery safer?
Logged
-Eric Myrvaagnes

http://myrvaagnes.com  Visit my photo website. New images each season. Also visit my new website: http://ericneedsakidney.org

michael

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5084
deleting card data
« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2007, 02:11:31 PM »

Eric,

Memory cards and cameras use FAT 32 data structure. This is very old technology, and while modern computers can obviously read and write it, it simply isn't wise to have your computer format the card.

ALWAYS do it in the camera that you intend to shoot the card with. The amount of battery power used is trivial a few seconds worth.

Michael
Logged

Eric Myrvaagnes

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10687
    • http://myrvaagnes.com
deleting card data
« Reply #6 on: February 27, 2007, 07:40:28 PM »

Quote
Eric,

Memory cards and cameras use FAT 32 data structure. This is very old technology, and while modern computers can obviously read and write it, it simply isn't wise to have your computer format the card.

ALWAYS do it in the camera that you intend to shoot the card with. The amount of battery power used is trivial – a few seconds worth.

Michael
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=103539\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Thanks, for the quick reply, Michael.

I agree about formatting, but simple deleting of downloaded images seems safe to do in Downloader Pro. The only time I had to format a card I did it in camera to make sure it was using the camera's data structure.

Eric
Logged
-Eric Myrvaagnes

http://myrvaagnes.com  Visit my photo website. New images each season. Also visit my new website: http://ericneedsakidney.org

theophilus

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 155
deleting card data
« Reply #7 on: February 27, 2007, 07:59:16 PM »

Quote
Thanks, for the quick reply, Michael.

I agree about formatting, but simple deleting of downloaded images seems safe to do in Downloader Pro. The only time I had to format a card I did it in camera to make sure it was using the camera's data structure.

Eric
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=103614\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Eric,

Formatting the card in the camera ensures that the next photos you take will be allocated continuous blocks of space.  The format in most cases will let you store some number more photos than simply deleting.
Logged

donross

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
deleting card data
« Reply #8 on: February 28, 2007, 06:10:30 AM »

Quote
Hi Don.
A lot of people were asking for this throughout the Beta cycle. Adobes response is that the only safe way to delete a card is in camera.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=103453\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Thanks Sean,
Nice to know it wasn't me after all.
Seems a pity though, I have never had a problem with C1 but I read with interest the other posts.
Don
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up