Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Print Resolution  (Read 5333 times)

Martin456

Print Resolution
« on: February 26, 2007, 01:47:02 am »

I am new to digital imaging and have recently purchased a Canon 30D. I am dowloading directly to Photoshop Elements 3. My camera captures at a max resolution of 3504x2336. When downloaded to the computer it is saved at the resolution of 3504x2336 but with an output resolution of 72 dpi. This gives an extremely large physical picture but at a low resolution for printing. I do not know at which resolution it is printing. When printing an A4 print (297x210mm) does it automatically print at the captured resolution of 3504x2336 pixels (abt 300dpi) or at the lesser rate of 72 dpi? And, do I need to resize the image prior to printing?

Martin

orangekay

Print Resolution
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2007, 04:36:36 am »

3504x2336 but with an output resolution of 72 dpi. This gives an extremely large physical picture but at a low resolution for printing

The pixel dimensions of the image do not change of their own accord (though the printer driver may downsample for you if you feed it more data than it can handle). Without getting into any of the semantic differences between dpi and ppi:

3504 pixels / 300 ppi = 11.68"
2336 pixels / 300 ppi = 7.79"

3504 pixels / 72 ppi = 48.67"
2336 pixels / 72 ppi = 32.44"

You can re-interpret those values in terms of any ppi setting you want, but until you actually alter the pixel dimensions of the image file, you're not really changing its resolution.

Or to put it another way, until you start printing 32 x 48, you're not printing those files at 72 ppi.
« Last Edit: February 26, 2007, 04:37:09 am by orangekay »

bjanes

Print Resolution
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2007, 09:18:19 am »