Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: to UV or not to UV ? (Eye-one)  (Read 5959 times)

antoinerose

to UV or not to UV ? (Eye-one)
« on: February 13, 2007, 01:47:04 pm »

Hello to all,
First post altough long time reader of the LL forums & sites.
A little background, I do photography as a side job, both commercially & personnal artwork.
I'm a D200 user for commercial work, & love my pentax 6x7II for personnal artwork.
I love to control the end to end chain, from capture to printing. To understand the color management problematic, I've read lots of books & website review/documentation/tests but I'm not an engineer nor a color geek therefore be indulgent & pardon my ignorance (to some extend!)
(& btw sorry for my english I'm french speaking ;-)
My setup for Color Mgt includes so far a lacie electronblue IV, calibrated with Monaco Optix Xr Pro (PC environment, win XP, Matrox P650). I use a Canon i9950 A3+ with very basic output profiles based on Monaco EZColor/IT8 Target/Epson 4990 Scanner)
I'm now ready to take the plunge & invest in a A2+ printer. My choice is definitive & will be the Canon ipf5000.  
I just have one question regarding which spectro from gretag, eye one WITH UV, WITHOUT UV & which software suite ?
I've read troughout my web resarch so many different & contradictory conclusions that I'm now lost !
What I want to do with my spectro is to calibrate both my monitor (CRT and LCD) + any pigment based OR colorant based printer on any kind of paper. (I will sell my Monaco Optix colorimeter if relevant)  But 80% of my profiling work performed by the eye-one will be on photographic paper such as Ilford smooth pearl or glossy paper (like the PR-101) I do not intend to use much fine art paper (cotton based etc...)