Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Honestly - do I need PS?  (Read 7946 times)

rlh1138

Honestly - do I need PS?
« on: February 09, 2007, 05:33:22 pm »

So I've been using PSE and Paint Shop Pro for some years. Between the two of  them I've got levels, curves, layers, RAW and 16 bit (limited yes), and all the other normal stuff.  It sometimes takes some juggling, (only PSP has curves), back and forth.  OTOH, I'm just a hobbyist, serious about it, doing it 20+ years, but it's not how I make a living - just want to be the best I can be. etc.  Now PS has sent me an offer to get CS2 for $299.  A good deal I guess, but still a bit of money to me.  So I'd like to hear from someone who has used the programs I mention and actually knows what they can do, and who has moved to PS and has an opinion.  Frankly, the only times I miss having PS is in reading the many interesting techniques and tips I'd like to try that are written for PS and use LAB, or one of the other things I don't have , or I simply can't figure out how to do in PSE.  OR, a plugin I'd like to try that only works with PS.  Or sometimes it seems PS has much more sophisticated color mgt.   So.... informed opinions please.  Will $299 help me be a better printer?

wolfnowl

• M&M's Musings
Honestly - do I need PS?
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2007, 09:21:12 pm »

Michael's opinion is that he does 95% of his work now in Lightroom.  It's $100 cheaper, but YMMV.

Mike.
If your mind is attuned t

Paul Sumi

Honestly - do I need PS?
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2007, 01:03:05 am »

Will $299 help me be a better printer?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=100092\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

It depends, going to the full PhotoShop CS2 (CS3 is coming out later this year) MAY give you getter results.  It certainly has more sophisticated tools than PS Elements or PSP.  Wolfnow's suggestion for Lightroom is another option.