Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Windows Vista Printer Drivers  (Read 5564 times)

MADCAT

Windows Vista Printer Drivers
« on: February 05, 2007, 08:55:09 pm »

I currently have Windows Vista installed for testing purposes using a dual boot system to see if I can safely switch over to it. The main reason I want to switch over to Vista is its support for much larger RAM sizes.  I have another 2GB of RAM sat here just waiting to go back into my PC and be gobbled up by PS & Lightroom  

I have been testing Vista for about 2 months now and everything seems to work flawlessly except for my Epson 4000/2100 print drivers. In fact, to be more specific, the existing drivers seem to work fine but the Epson Status Monitor 3 that allows bi-directional communication with the printer fails to install which prevents monitoring of ink levels and the use of various tools.

Epson have been very quiet about Vista drivers and are only just acknowledging that some of their existing Large Format printer drivers are Vista compatible. No official word on the 4000 yet but a FAQ (see below) on Epson.com indicates the current state of drivers. Surprisingly it also states "A Windows Vista-compatible version of Epson Status Monitor 3 will be available at a later date." but gives no time frame at all  

So I was wondering if anyone had any more news / inside info about being able to use our printers in Windows Vista with a new version of the Epson Status Monitor?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Edit: Can't link to the Epson FAQ as the link expires so here is an exert:
To see the full FAQ go here, click on "Windows Vista Compatibility" on the right then scroll down to "Wide Format Printers" and click on the FAQ link below the table.
Q: Is my Epson Stylus Pro printer supported in Windows Vista?