Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Cropping and resolution  (Read 3477 times)

scottleslie

• http://www.scottleslie.net
Cropping and resolution
« on: January 03, 2007, 01:33:17 am »

I have some experience with digital photography, from exposure to .jpg to PhotoShop CS to print (and one show) but have recently moved up to a D70, CS2, and RAW format. I'm finding the resolution part of the learning curve more daunting than the rest (which is considerable).

I'd always heard (read) that it's best not to resample, but to manipulate pixels per inch to resize the image without PhotoShop's messing with the pixels as exposed. That's fine for printing out the shot as shot, but in the real world where I come from most photos are cropped for artistic reasons. What's the optimum method to crop without altering the image's resolution more than absolutely necessary?

My current approach: open an .nef file, 3008 x 2000 @ 300 ppi,  select the crop tool and delete any numbers in the Width, Height and Resolution boxes, and then, using the Info window lower-right as a guide, select a 4x5 inch area (assuming I'm aiming for an 8x10 print).

Then I Shift-drag a corner of the crop area and move the whole thing around until it's covering what I want, and hit Enter (PC). Image Size tells me that it's now 5.587 in by 4.45 inches at 300 ppi (in this case—depending on how the crop area is dragged it could be any size, but the ratio is 8x10).

Two more steps: 1) Turn off Resample in Image Size and experiment with Resolution until the Weight and Height come out right; in this case 166 gives me 10.096 by 8.042, close enough. But 166 is too low for printing on an inkjet, so 2) I turn Resample back on and simply double the 166, to 332. PhotoShop is now doing what photographers more experienced than I seem to hate: stuffing pixels in between the original ones. But at least it should be an optimally even process, with minimal artifacts; at least, that's the way I'm figuring it.