Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Epson 4800 K3 ink life question  (Read 3062 times)

epson4800user

Epson 4800 K3 ink life question
« on: December 26, 2006, 05:29:39 pm »

I'm using Epson Stylus 4800, and according to the manual, the life of a K3 ink cartridge is 6 months after it's installed.  So what will happen to the unused ink after 6 months?  Will the print quality degrade?  How badly?

Geoff Wittig

« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2006, 05:36:51 pm »

I suspect this is one of those conditions added by the legal weasels to avoid litigation by disappointed customers. I've been printing with an Epson 7600 for several years, and some of the ink "cartridges" (boxes really) have been installed for over a year at the less used positions (cyan for me) without any detectable decline in color quality or accuracy.

claskin

« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2006, 05:38:15 pm »

I'm using Epson Stylus 4800, and according to the manual, the life of a K3 ink cartridge is 6 months after it's installed.  So what will happen to the unused ink after 6 months?  Will the print quality degrade?  How badly?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=92403\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

I have wondered about this expiration date for years. From my own experience, I have used carts over 1 year since installation (14 months) with no deterioration in print quality or increase in clogging. You will need the experience of others as well. Supposedly, clogging will increase. In addition, some remove the carts and give them a shake every now and then to keep the ink mixed. I can't comment on this.
Carl
Carl Laskin

Tim Ernst

« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2006, 05:50:00 pm »

It is as silly as putting an expiration date on bottled water...These are supposed to not fade for at least 75 years once they are exposed to the air (ink, not water), so I bet they will be stable for much longer than six months in a closed, air-tight, cart. Just pull them out and shake up a bit now and then and don't worry about it...