Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: G7 Dead Pixals  (Read 1920 times)

maxgruzen

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 128
    • http://www.pbase.com/mordicai
G7 Dead Pixals
« on: November 25, 2006, 08:39:37 PM »

Well I finally received my G7 yesterday and was having lots of fun until I looked at everything on the computer.  In the dark areas I have lots of white spots. A closer look reveiled clups of dead pixals all over the place. I'm really sad as I was enjoying the camera. I've never had this problem with my DSLR's. This is my first point & shoot. What do I do. Send it back and get another or return it and eat the 10% restocking charge.  Michael never mentioned this kind of stuff. I'm pissed. Anyone else with this problem? I bought this camera from buydig,com for $ 501.00.  Does Canon sell there seconds to .com sites.  After 55 years of photography I've felt so ripped off by a camera company as I do by Canon!
Logged

oldcsar

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 126
G7 Dead Pixals
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2006, 10:24:27 PM »

post some 100% pixel crops from your G7. It'll help show the extent of your problem...
Logged

s3c

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
    • http://
G7 Dead Pixals
« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2006, 09:38:50 AM »

I hate to tell you this, you might not have dead pixels, what you're seeing may be "normal" for this camera.

I don't know much about the G7, but the Rebel XTi (400d) also exhibits a white spot phenomenon, especially at higher ISO's.  In some forums I've read, the consensus seems to be that this is due to jamming too many pixels on the same size chip as previous models, which requires more aggressive noise reduction, which creates the dots.  Some people have been using either the Dust & Scratches or Despeckle filters in Photoshop with good results; see:

http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/read.asp...essage=20902650

Turning down the in camera sharpening has also been suggested as a solution; again, not familiar with the G7, so I don't know if this is an option for you
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up