Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Faster or Lighter, 70-200mm f2.8 or f4  (Read 2417 times)

EdP

Faster or Lighter, 70-200mm f2.8 or f4
« on: November 21, 2006, 04:00:06 pm »

I am an avid amateur with a one-time opportunity to upgrade my lenses. I shoot everything from portraits to soccer games. I have a 20D, and I was thinking of 2 lenses. One is the 24-105 f4L IS. There is no question here. Then I was looking at the new 70-200mm F4L IS, but with the rebates offered right now, and the fact that the tripod mount is an extra $125.00 on the f4, there is only about a $200.00 difference between the 2 lenses. My question is,
cost aside, would I better better off with the smaller lighter f4, with the better IS, or the larger heavier 2.8. I'm wondering if I'll be sorry if I get the f4 because of the speed, or will I get really sick of the size and weight of the 2.8. I am also looking at the 1.4x extender. I am leaning towards the f4, because the 20D has great low light capability, and I can shoot 800 or even 1600 ISO if I need to.

Any advice from anyone who has used these lenses would be appreciated.  I need to get this right, because with 1 daughter in college and another going in next year, it will be a llloooonng time before I'll be buying any more toys.

Thanks a lot,

Ed

Ben Rubinstein

« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2006, 04:44:46 pm »

I recently had this question. I shoot weddings for a living but the f4L had been used mainly for landscape, I'm not the worlds best handholder of longer lenses so most of the time I would use a friends 70-200 f2.8L IS when I needed the extra reach handheld during commercial jobs.