Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: RAW conversion questions from a beginner  (Read 2965 times)

Catalpa

RAW conversion questions from a beginner
« on: November 21, 2006, 09:12:50 am »

Hi,

I am new to raw image processing. I have been taking photos with a 20D in raw format recently, and have been using Canon DDP to convert those I needed to print. However, I'm now wanting to convert large numbers of photos for slideshows, and I prefer the inrterface to Lightroom and the way I can integrate it better into my use of Imatch.

Following an article I read on sharpening, I took a test shot to compare DDP and Lightroom. I set the camera to produce both a raw image and a JPG, and then compared these with raw to JPG from both DDP and Lightroom, using default settings. I found the camera JPG to be slightly better than the DDP image, and both signigficantl better than the Lighroom photo.

I then tried to edit the photo in Lightroom to produce a similar output to the other two options, and I couldn't get close, especially in shadow detail and noise reduction/smoothing. My question is what am I missing in the controls to get a similar effect.

I have uploaded samples to http://catalpa.smugmug.com/gallery/2156225. There is the original photo and three examples of each of two detailed crops, produced by the three methods.

If anyone can shed some light I'd be most appreciative.

Cheers
Charles

jani

• Øyet
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2006, 05:11:20 pm »

One of the default settings in Lightroom, is for "blacks" at 5. This basically increases scene contrast by clipping the shadow tones (increases the luminance level at which shadows are clipped). It can make images seem nice and snappy, but if you really want shadow detail, that's not necessarily going to help you. I'm not certain, but it seems that this setting may be responsible for what we see in your Lightroom conversion.