Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: C1Pro & A7III  (Read 595 times)

ski542002

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
C1Pro & A7III
« on: April 19, 2018, 08:27:03 AM »

Hello:  Shoot raw files with the A7RIII and the new A7III.  The A7III raw files are not yet compatible with C1Pro 11, but I understand an update is in beta.  In the interim, I've been testing Adobe's DNG converter.  The converted DNG files from the A7III will open in C1Pro.  I've also been looking at a program called DNG Cleaner which removes unwanted profiles, previews and settings from DNG images, and losslessly compresses the images to save space.

Does anyone have any experience (beneficial or otherwise) with DNG Converter?  I don't want to spend too much time testing this workaround if the C1Pro update is right around the corner.

Thanks in-advance for any comments.
Logged

uptownguydenver

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 79
    • uptownguydenver
Re: C1Pro & A7III
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2018, 08:50:22 AM »

Capture One 11.1 was just released and the A7III is listed as a supported camera. Many other great features listed in another post in this forum. http://forum.luminous-landscape.com/index.php?topic=124360.0
Logged
Phase One Certified Professional. Available for Digital-Tech and photo assistant work in the Denver area.

ski542002

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
Re: C1Pro & A7III
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2018, 09:49:15 AM »

Thanks for the heads up.  Ran a big job yesterday (From the A7RIII) and didn't bother to check for an update.  Really glad this update is completed as the DNG conversions look horrendous next to the ARW files from the 7III.
Logged

narikin

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1119
Re: C1Pro & A7III
« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2018, 10:10:32 AM »

An aside:

I did some tests using C1 A7R3 vs IQ100, to find out why the Sony color was always slightly disappointing. Locked on tripod, exact same Zeiss OTUS lens on both bodies (I have adapters for both) The Phase back gave far better color than the Sony, which leads me to the conclusion that Phase does not put the same effort into profiles for Sony sensor than their own. (both are Sony sensors of course, and pixel size is very close,)  I guess that isn't that surprising, but it is saddening.

Next, is to see if I can create my own C1 profile for the Sony, and better Phase's poor effort. Annoyed that I'm having to do this, when I pay good money for 'The worlds best RAW converter'. Sigh.
Logged

Phil Indeblanc

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2017
Re: C1Pro & A7III
« Reply #4 on: May 31, 2018, 11:22:03 AM »

I can be that Sony will deal with as long as they are playing with Phase under their "roof"?

You have to also consider, the sensor is adapted to each processor. The sensor may pick up the same light info, but how the engines take and process that info will differ. So it maybe that the IQ is better married off the start to talk to C1 while Sony is adapting differently.
Logged
If you buy a camera, you're a photographer...

Softbox

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
Re: C1Pro & A7III
« Reply #5 on: May 31, 2018, 01:26:10 PM »

Maybe because IQ100 has 16 bit vs 14 of Sony ?
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up