Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Canon 5D2 set RawSR2 and 10mb  (Read 1468 times)

kevs

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 498
Canon 5D2 set RawSR2 and 10mb
« on: April 08, 2018, 08:59:00 PM »

I have a Canon 5D2 can set for RawSR2 and the files came out 10mb/ 11mb, yet says in the camera they are about 5mb..?
Logged
Imac 27"
PS CC

SuperNiceNina

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon 5D2 set RawSR2 and 10mb
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2018, 07:50:41 AM »

Recorded file size changes depending on the information captured (seen) by the sensor. A plain white or black sheet (single tone) image will not create a file as large as a colourful garden scene (lots of tones), for example. Look at the histogram to see the amount of information recorded-a wide spread of the graph indicates lots of tone detail whereas a narrow peak equals less information. The file size will change accordingly.

Canon's manual states 'guide to' & 'approximate' file sizes for this reason I believe.

Hope I'm right, no doubt others will put it straight if I'm not.

Logged

kevs

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 498
Re: Canon 5D2 set RawSR2 and 10mb
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2018, 05:33:04 PM »

Yes super, but the camera in menu says 5 mb! right there, and none were under 10mb, none.
Logged
Imac 27"
PS CC

SuperNiceNina

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon 5D2 set RawSR2 and 10mb
« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2018, 05:37:27 AM »

When you say 'camera in menu says 5Mb' where exactly are you referring?

Do you mean the Menu screen - Shooting 1 which is where you set the quality (E.g RAW, SRAW1, SRAW2 & also JPEG options) or somewhere else?
Logged

TimoK

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 55
Re: Canon 5D2 set RawSR2 and 10mb
« Reply #4 on: April 10, 2018, 10:11:38 AM »

I looked at my 6D's menu and yes, there is same kind of numbers, RAW 20M, MRAW 11M, SRAW 5M. There is also amount of pixels. For SRAW 2736x1824. If You do the maths, the result is 5MB. It tells about picture quality which is like You used a 5MB camera, not the size of the file in memory card or hard drive.
Logged

kevs

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 498
Re: Canon 5D2 set RawSR2 and 10mb
« Reply #5 on: April 10, 2018, 03:09:08 PM »

YES Super, I mean exactly that where you set Quality, it says right there 5mb.

Tim thanks can you expand on that?  If I set something and it says 5mb, I assume the file will be 5mb.
Logged
Imac 27"
PS CC

SuperNiceNina

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon 5D2 set RawSR2 and 10mb
« Reply #6 on: April 10, 2018, 06:25:35 PM »

Where you set image quality the top line says 5M for SRAW2. 'M' stands for Mega = million. It refers to the pixels of that setting, not the resultant file size.

You appear to be confusing pixels with bytes-they are not the same. In the nicest possible way it is a RTFM moment.

Good luck, you go take super pics and let the pixels take care of themselves.

Logged

JeanMichel

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 420
Re: Canon 5D2 set RawSR2 and 10mb
« Reply #7 on: April 10, 2018, 09:17:32 PM »

I have a Canon 5D2 can set for RawSR2 and the files came out 10mb/ 11mb, yet says in the camera they are about 5mb..?

See page 55 of your camera manual. sRAW2 files are about 10.8 MB. sRAW1 are about 14.8 MB and RAW are about 25.8 Mb
Do you have a particular reason for using that setting?
Logged

BartvanderWolf

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7012
Re: Canon 5D2 set RawSR2 and 10mb
« Reply #8 on: April 11, 2018, 05:44:48 AM »

Where you set image quality the top line says 5M for SRAW2. 'M' stands for Mega = million. It refers to the pixels of that setting, not the resultant file size.

Indeed, if the number is just '5M' (I don't have the display to verify), then it is expressed as the number of pixels, not file size. 'M' stands for Mega, 'b' stand for bits, 'B' stands for Bytes, but 'M' by itself just refers to megapixels. Each Raw pixel is 14-bits of data, and it is run-length encoded (compressed). So the resulting file size will also vary with the level of detail (or noise) in the image, and that is before the addition of a thumbnail and EXIF metadata (the total image data in pixels is also larger than the resulting image, due to masked raw pixels at the borders that are used for technical reasons). Then there is a small rounding-up of the number of resulting bytes to full sector counts (depends on how the card or disk is formatted).

Cheers,
Bart
Logged
== If you do what you did, you'll get what you got. ==

kevs

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 498
Re: Canon 5D2 set RawSR2 and 10mb
« Reply #9 on: April 11, 2018, 04:02:55 PM »

Thanks guys, great info. One more question as all here-- it would be great to know how many shots are left on card your are shooting (like a battery gauge).
This does not exist currently still correct?
Logged
Imac 27"
PS CC

JeanMichel

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 420
Re: Canon 5D2 set RawSR2 and 10mb
« Reply #10 on: April 11, 2018, 05:18:09 PM »

Thanks guys, great info. One more question as all here-- it would be great to know how many shots are left on card your are shooting (like a battery gauge).
This does not exist currently still correct?

Well, just press "INFO".  That will give you both the number of possible shots and available space on your card.
I assume that you know where to find the battery info in the menu.
Logged

kevs

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 498
Re: Canon 5D2 set RawSR2 and 10mb
« Reply #11 on: April 11, 2018, 05:25:33 PM »

"Well, just press "INFO".  That will give you both the number of possible shots and available space on your card. "

thanks Jean, cool, never seen that before.
I asked Canon years ago and they said no way to do that. So I never checked again...I suppose this was not on the Mark 1?
Logged
Imac 27"
PS CC

BobShaw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1165
    • Aspiration Images
Re: Canon 5D2 set RawSR2 and 10mb
« Reply #12 on: April 12, 2018, 12:14:52 AM »

"Well, just press "INFO".  That will give you both the number of possible shots and available space on your card. "
thanks Jean, cool, never seen that before.
You should read the manual cover to cover if you want to gain the benefits of this camera.
Logged
Website - http://AspirationImages.com
Portrait and Commercial Photography

SuperNiceNina

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon 5D2 set RawSR2 and 10mb
« Reply #13 on: April 12, 2018, 04:07:50 AM »

You should read the manual cover to cover if you want to gain the benefits of this camera.

Second that, or even pick up the camera, press buttons and be amazed at what you will find out.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up