Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: The Need to Locate Files in a Catalog  (Read 311 times)

chadchat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
The Need to Locate Files in a Catalog
« on: January 12, 2018, 01:50:06 AM »

I'm repeatedly seeing broken file paths with images I've imported via a LR Catalog import and need to use C1's 'Locate'. I didn't move the files when I imported them into my C1 Catalog, just left them in their original location. Of course I need LR to relocate the files, it would be a nightmare to do it otherwise, so it doesn't bode well for a move to C1.
The files live on a NAS, could it be that while C1 is open, and it usually is, the network has experienced a hiccup, causing the problem?
Does anyone have any experience as to why this is happening or how to avoid it?
Broken file path

cheers,

/chadc
Logged

sebbe

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 80
Re: The Need to Locate Files in a Catalog
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2018, 02:43:46 AM »

As long as I don't move the files outside of C1 I never experienced any "locate/offline" files.
It sounds more like a network issue. Do you have the same problem with files stored on your computer? Just do a test to locate the cause.
Logged

UnfamiliarLight

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
    • Unfamiliar Light
Re: The Need to Locate Files in a Catalog
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2018, 11:04:56 AM »

I am not experiencing problems with missing files after my migration from LR to C1. My files are on an external drive attached to the computer and not over the network. Occasionally my computer looses track of the drive but since my catalogue is on that dive too that means I cannot even start C1 (or LR) when that happens  ;) .
Logged

Paul Steunebrink

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 69
    • Image Alchemist
Re: The Need to Locate Files in a Catalog
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2018, 05:57:01 AM »

Depending on your NAS the connection might be lost at some point in time. Once Capture One is able to reestablish the connection the image should be online again.
I think this can happen more often with NAS compared to an external drive.
Logged
Paul E. Steunebrink, Image Alchemist (Capture One tutorials), Phase One Ambassador,
Phase One Certified Professional, Phase One Cultural Heritage Specialist

chadchat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
Re: The Need to Locate Files in a Catalog
« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2018, 08:36:15 AM »

I understand that a hiccup in the network could cause problems, however even after restarting C1 I still need to locate the files manually.
This has only happened so far with files I didn't relocate when importing a Lightroom Catalog.
I'll repost if I learn something..
Logged

sebbe

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 80
Re: The Need to Locate Files in a Catalog
« Reply #5 on: January 15, 2018, 02:30:33 AM »

Normally I process on my local drive and move the folder to the NAS after work is done. Therefore most of my pictures are on the NAS but I hardly touch them. If I do I never experienced an offline picture or had to locate a folder.
My conlclusion out of this is: If you have any disconnections it has to do with your network or NAS settings. Don't try to find the issue inside of C1.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up