Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Capture One GUI  (Read 887 times)

gazwas

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 506
  • Gareth Walker
    • www.garethwalker.co.uk
Capture One GUI
« on: December 06, 2017, 07:02:07 PM »

Capture One 11 is sweet and love the new flexibility in layers.

However, is it just me or does anyone else find the GUI of C1 terrible. Phase keep adding great new features but they barely touch the program layout and just hide all the new stuff into little drop down menus. I was excited to hear about the new layers panel to only find this flash new feature looked just like it used to be. Iím not asking for a total mix up so we canít find things but some new icons/buttons/sliders would be nice IMO.

Anyone else feel similar?
Logged
trying to think of something meaningful........ Err?

mediumcool

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 753
Re: Capture One GUI
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2017, 08:05:43 AM »

No.
Logged
FaceBook facebook.com/ian.goss.39   www.mlkshk.com/user/mediumcool

Doug Peterson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3683
    • http://www.doug-peterson.com
Re: Capture One GUI
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2017, 11:13:25 AM »

In the Capture One Masters Program the first half hour is dedicated to the myriad ways you can customize the GUI for a 1, 2, or multi screen setup. The last half an hour is dedicated to advanced UI tips like how to change workspaces via keyboard shortcut, apply styles from the keyboard, control the crop from the keyboard, and use the Edit Primary toggle from keyboard to faster facilitate batch editing. With those sorts of power options in place I can tell you without any hesitation I feel the GUI and interface and workflow of C1 is faster, better, and more agile than any other raw editor.

If you're using the default workspace and are unhappy then change whatever you're unhappy with. The size of the icons and the background of the tools are just about the only things that aren't adjustable.
Logged
DOUG PETERSON ([email protected]), Digital Transitions (Dealer for Phase One, Mamiya Leaf, Arca-Swiss, Cambo, Profoto)
Office: 877.367.8537 | Cell: 740.707.2183 | Phase One IQ3 100mp - 9 Surprises

gazwas

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 506
  • Gareth Walker
    • www.garethwalker.co.uk
Re: Capture One GUI
« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2017, 05:17:43 PM »

If you're using the default workspace and are unhappy then change whatever you're unhappy with. The size of the icons and the background of the tools are just about the only things that aren't adjustable.

No, I use a custom workspace as the default one is terrible. I've been using the browser on the right since forever (image capture days) and its now only just made it to the default workspace.

I can't believe more people don't find C1 need some thought in this department. I know how great shortcuts can be but its a shame you have to revert to these methods due to the GUI being so lacking. I don't understand how Phase thought adding the the three dots at the top of the layers panel for all those great features was the best way to implement the new features? And with all that space at the bottom of the layers panel they couldn't come up with some new icons for filled/empty/clone/heal layers rather than the terrible drop down menu currently on the new layer icon?

Must just be me so I'll go crawl back into my dark studio with Capture One 11.
Logged
trying to think of something meaningful........ Err?

bcf

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 50
Re: Capture One GUI
« Reply #4 on: December 07, 2017, 06:11:35 PM »

Fill Mask etc. are accessible in the keyboard shortcuts editor.
Logged
-- Bernard, Lyon, France

john beardsworth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4187
    • http://www.beardsworth.co.uk
Re: Capture One GUI
« Reply #5 on: December 07, 2017, 06:22:17 PM »

Must just be me

No, you're quite right, and there are other comments about the poor UI if you look through recent threads.
Logged
www.beardsworth.co.uk   www.lightroomsolutions.com

New Fuji-to-Lightroom plugin X-LR

Ignoring : AlterEgo, digitaldog, scyth, deejaaa

Hoggy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 190
  • Never take life, or anything in it, too seriously.
Re: Capture One GUI
« Reply #6 on: December 07, 2017, 11:25:26 PM »

I can't believe more people don't find C1 need some thought in this department. I know how great shortcuts can be but its a shame you have to revert to these methods due to the GUI being so lacking.
.......
Must just be me

Definitely not just you.  I agree that customization is nice, but how it's implemented in C1 without having to strictly resort to arcane keyboard shortcuts, is not.

Of course, you'll also come across those C1 cheerleaders that also say similar things like "should that really be the job of a raw converter?" - in 2018.   ::) :o
Logged
Cams: Pentax K-3, K-30 & Canon G7X, S100
Firm supporter of DNG, throwing away originals.
It's the hash, man..  That good hash!

Jeff

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 28
Re: Capture One GUI
« Reply #7 on: December 08, 2017, 04:01:50 AM »

My thought re- short cuts is whilst they are a good idea one can easily use up all the available single key options and with  multiple key combinations ( especially > 2 ) one has to be a contortionist with one's fingers !

In fact, in some cases just using a mouse / wacom pen and  menus or the dots on tools is quicker once you get familiar with it.

Logged

gazwas

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 506
  • Gareth Walker
    • www.garethwalker.co.uk
Re: Capture One GUI
« Reply #8 on: December 08, 2017, 04:41:53 AM »

Fill Mask etc. are accessible in the keyboard shortcuts editor.
Yes, I know all about keyboard shortcuts.

My point is sort of reinforced by Doug's comment about having to go on a Capture One Master Course and specifically spend time customising just to learn how to make C1 function better as it suggests the default GUI is sort of broken. Would there be such a heavy reliance on shortcuts if Phase had spent some more time looking at the GUI.

I'm not trying to rubbish Phase or Capture One as is a great piece of software but more of an observation over the many years I've been using it as new features are added.
Logged
trying to think of something meaningful........ Err?

myotis

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 190
Re: Capture One GUI
« Reply #9 on: December 08, 2017, 05:13:55 AM »

Anyone else feel similar?

I can't say I have really thought about it.

I've moved a few things a around, and created some new palettes and shortcuts (I like shortcuts, as I find so much easier/quicker than menus, in any program), but not especially aware of there being an issue.

But I use a "lot" of different programs (not photography ones) and have got used to learning different interfaces and just accepting the way they are, but I can't say that C1 strikes me as being particularly bad.

Cheers,

Graham
Logged

gazwas

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 506
  • Gareth Walker
    • www.garethwalker.co.uk
Re: Capture One GUI
« Reply #10 on: December 08, 2017, 06:51:48 AM »

but I can't say that C1 strikes me as being particularly bad.

I agree, its not an absolute stinker.

I use C1 a lot and have been doing for a very long time and know how to get around using shortcuts, dual monitors, custom workspaces etc, etc, etc.......

However, with this last update I supposed I've really started to noticed its weird how Phase choose to add the new stuff. The change from version 3 to 4 was monumental and don't wish that again but I feel the developers are just bolting stuff onto C1 without any real thought how these features are accessed. As said above, the three dots in the top right of the layers menu (to name just one) strikes me as a terrible way to implement powerful new functions?
Logged
trying to think of something meaningful........ Err?

IanSeward

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 59
Re: Capture One GUI
« Reply #11 on: December 08, 2017, 01:27:49 PM »

Capture One 11 is sweet and love the new flexibility in layers.

However, is it just me or does anyone else find the GUI of C1 terrible. Phase keep adding great new features but they barely touch the program layout and just hide all the new stuff into little drop down menus. I was excited to hear about the new layers panel to only find this flash new feature looked just like it used to be. Iím not asking for a total mix up so we canít find things but some new icons/buttons/sliders would be nice IMO.

Anyone else feel similar?

The three dot menu icon is pretty widely used to indicate a sub menu.  It has the advantage of allowing you access to all of the relevant controls eg layers, masking, invert, copy etc in one place.  Seems pretty efficient to me.

Many people, me included, don't see keyboard shortcuts as a way of "falling back" but as a wanted requirement for any program, and the preferred way of working.  UI designers will never please everyone though :-)

I would like to see a change in the currently fashionable grey on black interface which I find dismal and depressing in general.  It is unfortunately fashionable and most programs have adopted it.  Full marks to Affinity Photo for providing a "light" UI option in their latest release.

Common Phaseone, lighten up and give us a bit of colour while your at it :-)  Have you considered your corporate responsibility?  Class action by users who became depressed from using a depressing colour scheme UI :-) :-)

Stay calm, just English humour..

Ian
Logged

Jack Varney

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 413
    • http://
Re: Capture One GUI
« Reply #12 on: December 08, 2017, 06:59:27 PM »

I am a CC subscriber and have been using PS and LR for a long time. But, I love the C1 user interface! C1 is my preferred processor. I finish with PS on a majority of images when extensive adjustments are required. Maybe it's because I am a PC guy or maybe because I have an IT professional background. C1, to me, gets to the point with no needless frills to compromise performance or distract my attention from the details. However, the preferred features cited by us users are in our brains (hearts?) from experience. Use what works for you.
Logged
Jack Varney

Tibor Ogrizek

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 31
Re: Capture One GUI
« Reply #13 on: December 09, 2017, 04:05:16 AM »

I don't understand how Phase thought adding the the three dots at the top of the layers panel for all those great features was the best way to implement the new features? And with all that space at the bottom of the layers panel they couldn't come up with some new icons for filled/empty/clone/heal layers rather than the terrible drop down menu currently on the new layer icon?

I totally agree with you that these could be better implemented at the bottom of the window next to Brush settings and Draw mask.



However, I found that when actually working on a layer it is fastest if selecting a layer and then right clicking and selecting the right option from the contextual menu that is relevant only for the selected layer than if selecting a layer and then hovering to the bottom of the window and clicking on the new icon for let's say Refine mask at the bottom of the window.

Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up