Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Canon 5D Mk ii-Xrite Passport profile maxes blue saturation  (Read 2867 times)

Charles Beasley

• http://www.charlesphotography.com
Canon 5D Mk ii-Xrite Passport profile maxes blue saturation
« on: November 06, 2017, 08:07:05 pm »

I have been using two 5D "Classics" for many years with great satisfaction and a couple of years ago started playing with the Passport DNG profiles, and have created them from within Lightroom and from the stand alone ap. When applying the profile to export tif or jpeg of the CC file, always the dark blue patch (#13) of the CC will be 100% saturated.
This happens when rendering 16 bit tifs in either SRGB or Adobe RGB; going to ProPhoto brings the blue saturation down to 76%. 

I've done single illuminant studio (using PCB Einsteins,) dual illuminant (daylight, shade.) Covered my camera room walls and ceiling with black fabric. Almost perfectly evenly lit the passport. Everything I could think of. (I bought and used Coloreyes many years ago so am familiar with the vagaries of acquiring a good target; thank goodness the Passport is not so fussy!)

I figured the camera may have predated the software and been too old for the software to be accurate. I always thought that a newer model camera would be more accurate.

I finally got around to getting a 5D Mk II, and was a bit miffed to find out that it too leads to a profile that leads to 100% blue saturation.
I'm pretty sure the MK II was current and highly regarded at the time the Passport software was created.

I have always read that Canons tend to over saturate reds, so am a bit perplexed.

I have used the profile editor to bring it down close to the values from Bruce Lindbloom's reference files, but I have seen countless videos where profiles are created routinely and used right away without any checking to see whether any of the colors are oversaturated.

Has anyone else experienced this?