Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Noise reduction??  (Read 3113 times)

gchappel

Noise reduction??
« on: October 28, 2017, 07:24:44 pm »

Shooting highschool football here in central florida is like shooting in a cave.  ISO 12000+ to get 1/800 at f2.8. 
Even my d4 has a fair amount of noise here. 
I am still learning C1, but I often like the output more than lightroom- although I have used lightroom since the beginning.
My only real issue if noise.  Lightroom and dxo seem to handle this much better.
Any thoughts?  How are you handling noise?  Do I need to export it to photoshop and then bring it back into C1?
Thanks for any help
Gary

Bart_van_der_Wolf

Re: Noise reduction??
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2017, 08:26:59 am »

Shooting highschool football here in central florida is like shooting in a cave.  ISO 12000+ to get 1/800 at f2.8. 
I am still learning C1, but I often like the output more than lightroom- although I have used lightroom since the beginning.
My only real issue if noise.  Lightroom and dxo seem to handle this much better.
Any thoughts?  How are you handling noise?  Do I need to export it to photoshop and then bring it back into C1?

Hi Gary,

Having/adding more light for the initial image capture should significantly benefit image quality. Shooting at ISO's above 1600 is generally detrimental to image quality, and it may be better to stick to ISO 1600 and then underexpose for the required shutterspeed. That will also allow to more easily capture highlights without clipping them.

Given a noisy image capture, I prefer to use a dedicated noise reduction program, like "Topaz Labs Denoise" or "NeatImage". The reason I prefer that over built-in noise reduction in Capture One (or e.g. Lightroom), is that these programs offer much more control over the noise reduction process and they produce very good results.