Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: H6D-100c tiff files size exceed Phocus capability  (Read 1131 times)

Tarkowsky

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 43
H6D-100c tiff files size exceed Phocus capability
« on: October 06, 2017, 07:18:16 PM »

The usual 100MP Raw file from my H6D-100c (11600x8700pixels) becomes a 577MB after converting it to a 16 bit Tiff file using Phocus 3.3.
Unfortunately it seems that Phocus is unable to read Tiff files exceeding 473MB unless there is an hidden internal option to extend that limit.
So far I haven't found any and it's weird that Hasselblad hasn't extended that limit after a year since it released the H6D-100c.


Logged

BAB

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 220
Re: H6D-100c tiff files size exceed Phocus capability
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2017, 10:45:27 PM »

Not so weird
1. They don't always give complete or partial explanations to features, your mostly on your own with Hasselblad!
2. Phocus corrects raw files behind the scenes really well, and it does have many good adjustments like the curves panel for one. Highlight, shadows and exposure suck, so does import function I find I much better off to run the files through raw digger then bring into Phocus. Now that Export is faster export to Lightroom for cataloging and post process in PS.
3. Phocus is great really great for thethered shooting.
4. Hasselblad needs to release firmware and software updates much more frequently but they don't. I'd be happy to get an update with one fix 4 times a month. In the last firmware release they mentioned items that will be addressed in a future update. However none of those items are on my HIT or WANT list.
5. Hasselblad spends more energy telling us what they can't or won't do. But they (Hasselblad) don't get we don't care about the weather reports we want results just like their financial backers. At this point my vote is they clean house. Either own up to their loyal and potential customers or close the doors.
6. The lens lineup for H6D cameras needs to be updated especially the 100mm the AF has to be faster and more accurate it's not only possible but easy., The mount on the bottom of the camera needs to be Arca Swiss compatible come on who doesn't want that what a PIA. They need to update the grip screen you can't read the frickin thing. It's a long list of very small and some large items to get this H6D box singing.
Unfortunately we the users are dumb and we don't understand the camera business the proof we bought the thing knowing our complaints fall on deaf ears. Let a few of us consumers interview them and post the interview on YouTube for all to hear the Hasselblad development team and CEO respond to our concerns. Is all bad B(LAD) no but they left us hanging. Now what if the change horses and discontinue the H6D cameras then what?



Logged
I fear not the man who has practiced 10,000 kicks once, but I fear the man who has practiced one kick 10,000 times - "Bruce Lee"

maxshafiq

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 91
Re: H6D-100c tiff files size exceed Phocus capability
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2017, 11:55:25 PM »

Obviously you are NOT a Hasselblad person...

:-)


Not so weird
1. They don't always give complete or partial explanations to features, your mostly on your own with Hasselblad!
2. Phocus corrects raw files behind the scenes really well, and it does have many good adjustments like the curves panel for one. Highlight, shadows and exposure suck, so does import function I find I much better off to run the files through raw digger then bring into Phocus. Now that Export is faster export to Lightroom for cataloging and post process in PS.
3. Phocus is great really great for thethered shooting.
4. Hasselblad needs to release firmware and software updates much more frequently but they don't. I'd be happy to get an update with one fix 4 times a month. In the last firmware release they mentioned items that will be addressed in a future update. However none of those items are on my HIT or WANT list.
5. Hasselblad spends more energy telling us what they can't or won't do. But they (Hasselblad) don't get we don't care about the weather reports we want results just like their financial backers. At this point my vote is they clean house. Either own up to their loyal and potential customers or close the doors.
6. The lens lineup for H6D cameras needs to be updated especially the 100mm the AF has to be faster and more accurate it's not only possible but easy., The mount on the bottom of the camera needs to be Arca Swiss compatible come on who doesn't want that what a PIA. They need to update the grip screen you can't read the frickin thing. It's a long list of very small and some large items to get this H6D box singing.
Unfortunately we the users are dumb and we don't understand the camera business the proof we bought the thing knowing our complaints fall on deaf ears. Let a few of us consumers interview them and post the interview on YouTube for all to hear the Hasselblad development team and CEO respond to our concerns. Is all bad B(LAD) no but they left us hanging. Now what if the change horses and discontinue the H6D cameras then what?




Logged

maxshafiq

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 91
Re: H6D-100c tiff files size exceed Phocus capability
« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2017, 11:57:57 PM »

To the OP, is there a particular reason why you are trying to look at a TIFF file in Phocus after conversion? Just curious...

I will try this exercise tomorrow and report back results.

Logged

David Watson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 449
Re: H6D-100c tiff files size exceed Phocus capability
« Reply #4 on: October 07, 2017, 09:58:26 AM »

Hi

I usually convert to 16bit TIFF's and then do any subsequent editing in PS/LR.  I have no problems opening 16bit TIFFs in Phocus and examining at 100%.  File sizes are 600MB plus.

When this kind of problem has happened to me in the past it has usually been due to a lack of memory (RAM) in the computer being used.  I use a late model iMac with 32GB with no issues.  My niece has an older iMac with only 8GB and she has hit problems opening very large files.  Phocus may, like PS, require a bigger workspace than the file size and this combined with other apps and OS overhead may be restricting your ability to edit.

Just a suggestion.

Logged
David Watson

siddhaarta

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 98
Re: H6D-100c tiff files size exceed Phocus capability
« Reply #5 on: October 07, 2017, 11:22:42 AM »

With my MacBook Pro 16GB RAM and only basic GPU, I can't open bigger TIFFs either. The program crashes most of the times.

Sometimes, however, I get to open even 900 MB panos, but its painfully slow. So, after basic adjustments, I generally export the RAWs directly and go on with another software.

« Last Edit: October 07, 2017, 11:29:18 AM by siddhaarta »
Logged

Tarkowsky

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 43
Re: H6D-100c tiff files size exceed Phocus capability
« Reply #6 on: October 07, 2017, 02:24:25 PM »

Hi

I usually convert to 16bit TIFF's and then do any subsequent editing in PS/LR.  I have no problems opening 16bit TIFFs in Phocus and examining at 100%.  File sizes are 600MB plus.

When this kind of problem has happened to me in the past it has usually been due to a lack of memory (RAM) in the computer being used.  I use a late model iMac with 32GB with no issues.  My niece has an older iMac with only 8GB and she has hit problems opening very large files.  Phocus may, like PS, require a bigger workspace than the file size and this combined with other apps and OS overhead may be restricting your ability to edit.

Just a suggestion.

I  work on Pc with Windows 7 64bit and 64GB ram so there is plenty of it  to open any file.
The problem is that Phocus can not even see files bigger that 473MB because it can not create the thumbnail so there is no chance to open it.
I've tried with another pc with 48MB ram installed but no way either so I guess it's really a limitation of Phocus.
Probably there is a limit in the thumbnail creation process.
Logged

Doug Peterson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3667
    • http://www.doug-peterson.com
Re: H6D-100c tiff files size exceed Phocus capability
« Reply #7 on: October 07, 2017, 02:28:21 PM »

To the OP, is there a particular reason why you are trying to look at a TIFF file in Phocus after conversion? Just curious...

When editing weddings I use Photoshop on around 10% of the images, mostly minor touch ups of the faces of the wedding party and close family on images where their face is prominent in the frame. Capture One can handle handle basic dodge and burns, remove minor acne, and tidy up isolated stray hairs; more complex retouching requires Photoshop.

This is my wedding editing workflow, which I find works very well for me:
1. Raws go to the Capture Folder (into subfolders by time of day)
2. Edit by star rating; 1 is delete, 2 is retain just in case, 3 and above will be provided to client, 4 and above will go on the public online gallery, 5 and above are hero images for teasers/Instagram/portfolio etc.
3. Images that require PS editing are marked with a yellow color tag.
4. All 3+ star images get a light pass through with basic exposure/white balance/crop and appropriate styles applied (I'm loving the Fuji 400H style we developed earlier this year for our wedding shooters). All 4+ star images get more advanced tweaking (dodge/burn, color adjustments). All 5+ images get as much tweaking as I have patience to explore.
5. I filter by yellow tag and process those images using a Process Recipe that I've named "Retouch Alongside" which
---- creates a 16 bit TIFF
---- places it in the same folder as the raw (not the default option of the output folder)
---- names the tiff [name of raw]-RT.tif (standing for "ReTouch")
---- includes the Rating in the metadata of the TIFF
---- opens that TIFF in Photoshop
6. I retouch the yellow tag images and when I'm happy with the result, I consolidate the layers down to 2 or 3 layers, save, and close.
7. Back in Capture One when I'm ready to process my deliverables/derivatives I filter by not-yellow-tag and select all. The result is that I've selected all the images (as raws) that didn't require retouching and all the retouched TIFFs of those images that did require retouching.
8. I process those images to medium sized watermarked JPGs for the web, non-watermarked full-size JPGs for client delivery (unless the client is on the nerdy side or specifically requests TIFFs), and TIFFs of the 5-star images for my archive (all raws, including 1 and 2 star images, also go to my archive).
9. After client accepts delivery, orders prints/albums, and a good feeling time has passed I move that wedding's session from my Work folder to my Archive folder, empty the session trash (the images marked 1 star in step 1).

In this way I can put images that required retouching and those that don't through the exact same workflow. I retain, for the retouched images, all the C1 tools I might use after the near-final-edit stage – the ability to use the output recipe options in Capture One, fast cropping (including batch cropping), using the B+W tool if a section of the story seems better told in B+W. This is a workflow we teach in Capture One Masters Program. Since I use the Phase One IQ3 100mp for large sections of the weddings I shoot I'd be dead in the water trying to use this workflow if I couldn't view those TIFFs in my raw editor.

Anyway, the point is there are VERY good reasons in some workflows to quickly/easily view processed TIFFs in your raw editor.
Logged
DOUG PETERSON ([email protected]), Digital Transitions (Dealer for Phase One, Mamiya Leaf, Arca-Swiss, Cambo, Profoto)
Office: 877.367.8537 | Cell: 740.707.2183 | Phase One IQ3 100mp - 9 Surprises

BobShaw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1005
    • Aspiration Images
Re: H6D-100c tiff files size exceed Phocus capability
« Reply #8 on: October 08, 2017, 05:22:56 PM »

When editing weddings I use Photoshop ..... Anyway, the point is there are VERY good reasons in some workflows to quickly/easily view processed TIFFs in your raw editor.
That seems an incredibly complex workflow.
Seeing as we are talking about Hasselblad and FFF files aren't read by Capture One, I am not sure why you use Capture One at all?
If Capture One ever does support Hasselblad then I may buy it. At the moment I am still using Aperture.
I use Phocus for tether capture or 3f to FFF conversion. Only the hero shots ever get exported as TIF and then straight to Photoshop.
Everything is printed from the final TIF using Mirage print.
If you have exported a TIF from Phocus then to me the raw is finished and you could use Capture One then.
Logged
Website - http://AspirationImages.com
Blog - http://AspirationImages.com/blog
Landscape, Portrait, Product Photography - Sydney, Australia

Master Technika

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
Re: H6D-100c tiff files size exceed Phocus capability
« Reply #9 on: October 09, 2017, 01:43:48 PM »

Obviously you are NOT a Hasselblad person...

:-)

Obviously he is a “Hasselblad person”, because only a “Hasselblad person” would know the things this person has had to deal with. I’ve been dealing with them and have felt exactly the same: that they really don’t seem to care about their customers. I hope that changes.
Logged

BobShaw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1005
    • Aspiration Images
Re: H6D-100c tiff files size exceed Phocus capability
« Reply #10 on: October 09, 2017, 06:49:24 PM »

Obviously he is a “Hasselblad person”, because only a “Hasselblad person” would know the things this person has had to deal with. I’ve been dealing with them and have felt exactly the same: that they really don’t seem to care about their customers. I hope that changes.
Exactly what are you concerned about? Have you run a camera company or a software development team?
I like to think that I am a Hasselblad person as it is my main studio camera. Features in Phocus like scene calibration and reproduction mode are awesome, not that the camera has a problem with colour straight out of the box. There have been a lot of improvements from version 2.9 on and I think the release speed is about right.
They are still supporting three different vintages of cameras back to the 1950s. Who else does that?
Logged
Website - http://AspirationImages.com
Blog - http://AspirationImages.com/blog
Landscape, Portrait, Product Photography - Sydney, Australia

Tarkowsky

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 43
Re: H6D-100c tiff files size exceed Phocus capability
« Reply #11 on: October 12, 2017, 09:26:32 AM »

I just got the answer from Hasselblad support wich says:

We kindly inform you that currently, there is a limit on 500MB on tif/jpg files (images files other than fff/3fr). It was put in there as a safety check at a time when nobody could imagine such huge files.
It was tested on Mac without issues(running 10.13), so only seems to be a PC issue.

We are going to bump that limit upwards for the next version of Phocus.
« Last Edit: October 12, 2017, 11:01:43 PM by Tarkowsky »
Logged

JJon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 40
Re: H6D-100c tiff files size exceed Phocus capability
« Reply #12 on: October 14, 2017, 11:03:23 PM »

I hate these lazy things. I called them a month or two ago regarding a dialog box and they didn't know what a check box did. I happened to be working on a windows machine and I think all their US tech support is Mac based. Apparently it was Windows version specific.
Logged

RDMAX

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 72
Re: H6D-100c tiff files size exceed Phocus capability
« Reply #13 on: October 15, 2017, 09:07:27 PM »

Phocus is terrible. Glad I never have to use that software ever again.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up