Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: LR to Photoshop not working  (Read 775 times)

mdijb

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 534
    • mdiimaging.com
LR to Photoshop not working
« on: September 21, 2017, 10:33:43 PM »

Sending a photo from LR to Photoshop results in nothing happening.  THis was working fine until today.  I recently updated to the current version of LR-CC and Photoshop-CC an a mAC using OS 10.10.5.  Sendin an image from the desktop to Phoshop works fine.

I have reset preferences in both LR and Photshop with no help.

Somethin is broken--Please help.

MDIJB
Logged
mdiimaging.com

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12203
    • http://digitaldog.net/
Re: LR to Photoshop not working
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2017, 10:44:22 PM »

Happens from time to time, no idea why (like why do we have to delete Adobe preferences so often). Anyway, you'll probably have to do a clean install of both, do Photoshop then LR. That usually fixes whatever 'link' got screwy.
Logged
Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/

Mark D Segal

  • Contributor
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10248
    • http://www.markdsegal.com
Re: LR to Photoshop not working
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2017, 06:23:37 AM »

Do either of you, or any other reader know whether the problem has been raised with Adobe?
Logged
Mark D Segal (formerly MarkDS)
Author: "Scanning Workflows with SilverFast 8....." http://www.luminous-landscape.com/reviews/film/scanning_workflows_with_silverfast_8.shtml

Rhossydd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2634
    • http://www.paulholman.com
Re: LR to Photoshop not working
« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2017, 06:34:52 AM »

(like why do we have to delete Adobe preferences so often)
I've never had to do that and have been using LR on Windows since the first public beta, must be a mac thing.
« Last Edit: September 22, 2017, 06:54:39 AM by Rhossydd »
Logged

john beardsworth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4115
    • http://www.beardsworth.co.uk
Re: LR to Photoshop not working
« Reply #4 on: September 22, 2017, 06:48:44 AM »

I've never had to do that and having been using LR on Windows since the first public beta, must be a mac thing.

Usually, yes, and not just Lightroom.
Logged
www.beardsworth.co.uk   www.lightroomsolutions.com

New Fuji-to-Lightroom plugin X-LR

Ignoring : AlterEgo, digitaldog, scyth, deejaaa

mdijb

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 534
    • mdiimaging.com
Re: LR to Photoshop not working
« Reply #5 on: September 22, 2017, 06:50:56 AM »

MORE DETAIL.  The image apperantly goes to Photoshop but no window with the image appearing shows.  The menu bar at the top of my screen appears but nothing happens when clicking anything.  When closing the program, a popup appears asking if I want to save the image.

So it looks like the image went to Photoshop but I cannot access it.

HOLY @$#[email protected]$.  I just tried again this morning and now everything works normally--What is going on here?

The problem posted recently about the 1:1 preview of the image returned from LR not loading persists.  I just returned an image from Photoshop and the 1:1 preview loaded just fine, but the next time I did so on another image, it did not.

Confusion about what is going on here continues.

MDIJB
Logged
mdiimaging.com

john beardsworth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4115
    • http://www.beardsworth.co.uk
Re: LR to Photoshop not working
« Reply #6 on: September 22, 2017, 06:53:40 AM »

Try changing the workspace in Photoshop. Window > Arrange or Window > Workspace.
Logged
www.beardsworth.co.uk   www.lightroomsolutions.com

New Fuji-to-Lightroom plugin X-LR

Ignoring : AlterEgo, digitaldog, scyth, deejaaa

Wayne Fox

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3856
    • waynefox.com
Re: LR to Photoshop not working
« Reply #7 on: September 23, 2017, 01:39:00 AM »

did you restart the computer after the update?  this is the only time I've seen it, after updating. Lr prefs seem to still be looking for the old PS CC. Killing the pref file might help.  You might also check under the preferences to see if the correct version of PS CC is listed for opening documents into.

I've had issues if there were two copies of Photoshop on different drives, usually from backing up things.  I now exclude backing up the actual photoshop app, just the rest of the folder. It  can easily be restored with CC, and since then I haven't seen any problems.

Les Sparks

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 271
    • http://www.ncsparks.com
Re: LR to Photoshop not working
« Reply #8 on: September 24, 2017, 10:39:07 PM »

It's not just a Mac thing. I have the same problem with Windows10. Get message that PS can not be launched but it does launch and image is transferred but can not be edited. If I close the image, it is saved in the catalog as original file name edit.iif All subsequent attempts to edit from LR to PS work fine.
Some days LR an PS work like they're supposed to and other days they don't.
Les
Logged

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12203
    • http://digitaldog.net/
Re: LR to Photoshop not working
« Reply #9 on: September 25, 2017, 10:26:15 AM »

Do either of you, or any other reader know whether the problem has been raised with Adobe?
Raised and ignored.
Logged
Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
Pages: [1]   Go Up