Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Will the Nikon D850 require a computer upgrade?  (Read 2376 times)

David Eckels

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1799
  • Paris sidewalk cafe
    • DavidEckelsPhotography.com
Will the Nikon D850 require a computer upgrade?
« on: August 28, 2017, 12:25:51 PM »

Does anyone have a sense about whether D850 raw files will overload existing computer systems? It has been 3.5 years since I built my last system relying on a Samsung system SSD and a 3 GB Nvidia GTX video card. Thinking about the new m.2 drives and a Quadro card. Any recommendations or references welcome! Do PS and/or LR take advantage such speed? And finally, cores or clock speed, which is better?

kers

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1756
    • Pieter Kers
Re: Will the Nikon D850 require a computer upgrade?
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2017, 04:03:54 PM »

In short: no
I am shure that even my 10 year old mac pro will have no problem at all.
I work with gigabyte images
Logged
Pieter Kers
www.beeld.nu

Telecaster

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2965
Re: Will the Nikon D850 require a computer upgrade?
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2017, 04:11:27 PM »

I can process 42mp Sony A7rii RAWs on my (nearly 3-year-old) iPad.  :)

-Dave-
Logged

BernardLanguillier

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11056
    • http://www.flickr.com/photos/bernardlanguillier/sets/
Re: Will the Nikon D850 require a computer upgrade?
« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2017, 08:28:51 AM »

The best upgrade you could do is to use C1 Pro instead of LR. ;)

Granted, I use LR on H6D-100c files on a 2 screen set up, one of them 4k, but the incredibly sluggish performance of LR never ceases to amaze me.

C1 Pro is in a totally different league really.

Cheers,
Bernard

kers

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1756
    • Pieter Kers
Re: Will the Nikon D850 require a computer upgrade?
« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2017, 09:37:30 AM »

LR and photoshop ... Adobe products ... are known not to take well use of the hardware - especially the graphic processor, but also hardly uses more than one core of the CPU.
This is a problem that has been around for more than a decade(!)

Many users - including me- have turned off the GPU acceleration for it is badly implemented and raises problems in some cases instead of speeding things up.

I understand that Adobe at the moment begins to realize this too ;)

(In the mean time they keep everybody happy with a new dehaze filter...)
Logged
Pieter Kers
www.beeld.nu

ChrisMax

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21
Re: Will the Nikon D850 require a computer upgrade?
« Reply #5 on: September 16, 2017, 07:39:21 AM »

For images no but if you want to shoot 4K video and be able to work on it or view it you'll need a 4K monitor and video card.
Logged

kers

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1756
    • Pieter Kers
Re: Will the Nikon D850 require a computer upgrade?
« Reply #6 on: September 16, 2017, 10:55:13 AM »

and i forgot, Nikon and Lightroom software ( mac) will need system 10.10 to use.

To see raw thumbnails on a mac it will be even system 10.12 or 10.13

Lets us hope it will be 10.12... at least the bugs are mostly gone after one year of upgrades.

This is also true for some programs that heavily rely upon OSX software to show thumbnails like Media Pro.
Logged
Pieter Kers
www.beeld.nu

bestia

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: Will the Nikon D850 require a computer upgrade?
« Reply #7 on: September 27, 2017, 03:25:42 PM »

Hi.May be off topic but may I ask
Does anyone have any spec on the D850's shutter life expectancy? It just dawn on me that they don't advertise this feature anymore on most model cameras.
Thanks in advance
Logged
Cheers, Bestia

rdonson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2777
Re: Will the Nikon D850 require a computer upgrade?
« Reply #8 on: September 27, 2017, 04:13:14 PM »

The best upgrade you could do is to use C1 Pro instead of LR. ;)

Granted, I use LR on H6D-100c files on a 2 screen set up, one of them 4k, but the incredibly sluggish performance of LR never ceases to amaze me.

C1 Pro is in a totally different league really.

Cheers,
Bernard

Does C1 Pro offer DAM?
Logged
Regards,
Ron

RezanFerdous

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • Never put passion before principle.
    • 10HighTech - Highly Crafted Techs, Product And Honest Review
Re: Will the Nikon D850 require a computer upgrade?
« Reply #9 on: December 24, 2017, 05:36:23 PM »

Iím confident this has been improved, but with Nikon not doing much to quantify it, I suspect the gains are smaller than Iíd like to see.  Every little bit is welcome.  Improved dynamic range may help me reduce shadow noise and motion alignment issues from blending multiple exposures (though Iíll still be blending, which I routinely do with single RAW files).  If this beats expectations, it would immediately jump up on my list of reasons to buy.

Best Regards
« Last Edit: December 24, 2017, 05:43:26 PM by RezanFerdous »
Logged

kers

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1756
    • Pieter Kers
Re: Will the Nikon D850 require a computer upgrade?
« Reply #10 on: December 24, 2017, 07:33:19 PM »

Hi.May be off topic but may I ask
Does anyone have any spec on the D850's shutter life expectancy? It just dawn on me that they don't advertise this feature anymore on most model cameras.
Thanks in advance

for what i know 200.000
but because of the silent - non shutter- you will make more images...
I think the d810 had 300.000  so no improvement on that part.
Logged
Pieter Kers
www.beeld.nu
Pages: [1]   Go Up