Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Recovering Presets etc  (Read 456 times)

Robert Boire

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 222
    • www.robertboire.ca
Recovering Presets etc
« on: August 15, 2017, 12:32:32 PM »

Hi,

I was recently forced to reinstall LR6 due to a computer failure. I had a large number of editing and printing presets i would like to recover from my backup (assuming its not corrupted). Can somebody tell me how to do that. I assume there is a file or something that needs to be copied.

Thanks

Alan Goldhammer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2651
    • A Goldhammer Photography
Re: Recovering Presets etc
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2017, 05:59:40 PM »

I can only tell you where they are located on my WinOS 8.1 machine.  My catalogue directory is named 'LR4 Catalogue' (not very original!!).  In there is a file folder named 'Lightroom Settings' (I think this is configurable by LR and that's where I placed it) and that contains all the presets.   If you can do a folder or file scan of your backup you should be able to find it pretty easily.  Within that folder are all the folders that contain various Presets, Templates, and Sets.
Logged

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12146
    • http://digitaldog.net/
Re: Recovering Presets etc
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2017, 06:59:42 PM »

Location depends on if you used the "Store Presets with Catalog" option (which I recommend) or the default and the later, depending on your OS. Here's the decoder ring for this and more:


https://www.lightroomqueen.com/articles-page/lightroom-5-default-locations/
Logged
Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/

rdonson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2538
Logged
Regards,
Ron

Leszek Piotrowski

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 113
Re: Recovering Presets etc
« Reply #4 on: August 15, 2017, 11:24:51 PM »

Yes,.. I have just gone thru you pain,... as Rodney mentioned,... I had "Store presets with Catalogue". All was returned ( once I "repointed" LR6 to my original LR6 catalogue)  the way I had LR6 setup.  If that is not your current situation ,.. try what Victoria Bampton (LRQ) suggests to help recover those presets.

Logged
Leszek, G
Pages: [1]   Go Up