Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Open SilverFast in 32 bit mode on a PC  (Read 556 times)

saiguy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
Open SilverFast in 32 bit mode on a PC
« on: July 31, 2017, 08:27:54 PM »

I have a Canon 8800F scanner with SilverFast 8. It will only run in 32 bit mode. I know how to do that on my Mac. I want to give this scanner to someone who is PC based. Can anyone tell how to open an App in 32 bit mode on PC?  thanks,
Logged

Mark D Segal

  • Contributor
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10087
    • http://www.markdsegal.com
Re: Open SilverFast in 32 bit mode on a PC
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2017, 08:47:48 PM »

Did you file a support ticket with LaserSoft Imaging? Perhaps they can address this as they designed SilverFast for both operating systems and know the scanners as well.
Logged
Mark D Segal (formerly MarkDS)
Author: "Scanning Workflows with SilverFast 8....." http://www.luminous-landscape.com/reviews/film/scanning_workflows_with_silverfast_8.shtml

Farmer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2465
Re: Open SilverFast in 32 bit mode on a PC
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2017, 10:04:24 PM »

64bit Windows systems will automatically open 32bit applications using WoW (Windows on Windows) which is an operating system level capability (just as 32bit Windows used to open 16bit applications).  It only goes back one generation, though - you can't do 16bit apps on 64bit natively - you need an additional virtual machine or other emulator.

So short answer is, "it just works".
Logged
Phil Brown

saiguy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
Re: Open SilverFast in 32 bit mode on a PC
« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2017, 10:21:06 PM »

Thanks Mark.

I have gone through your SF8 book at least twice and referred to sections many times. Thank you for that great contribution.

Thanks Farmer.

Should it simply Open, or do you have to jump through some hoops to enable WoW.
Logged

Farmer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2465
Re: Open SilverFast in 32 bit mode on a PC
« Reply #4 on: July 31, 2017, 10:54:19 PM »

It simply opens.  It's a native process in Windows.  It recognises it as 32 bit and runs it accordingly - it's utterly transparent to the user - you would not know one way or the other.
Logged
Phil Brown

Alan Goldhammer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2609
    • A Goldhammer Photography
Re: Open SilverFast in 32 bit mode on a PC
« Reply #5 on: August 01, 2017, 07:13:37 AM »

It simply opens.  It's a native process in Windows.  It recognises it as 32 bit and runs it accordingly - it's utterly transparent to the user - you would not know one way or the other.
Phil is correct.  There are still lots of applications that are 32 bit these days.  I think the Firefox browser has always been 32 bit and it runs just fine.  I have some other applications on my Windows PC that work without any issues.
Logged

Mark D Segal

  • Contributor
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10087
    • http://www.markdsegal.com
Re: Open SilverFast in 32 bit mode on a PC
« Reply #6 on: August 01, 2017, 10:22:49 AM »

Thanks Mark.

I have gone through your SF8 book at least twice and referred to sections many times. Thank you for that great contribution.
......................

You are welcome. Glad you are finding it useful.
Logged
Mark D Segal (formerly MarkDS)
Author: "Scanning Workflows with SilverFast 8....." http://www.luminous-landscape.com/reviews/film/scanning_workflows_with_silverfast_8.shtml
Pages: [1]   Go Up