Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Sensors, other thoughts  (Read 6042 times)

marcmccalmont

Sensors, other thoughts
« on: August 16, 2006, 08:42:59 pm »

1. I'm not familiar with the process used to manufacture sensors but I always thought a round sensor would allow me to get all the image from a round lens and I could crop any aspect ratio later when processing the RAW file?
2. Since film has a randomness to the silver halide and we are conditioned to seeing that over a lifetime would there be an advantage to a sensor having say 3, 4 and 6 micron photocells arranged in a pseudo random patern like a latin square (sudoku)?
3. One last thought from a beginners point of view... I wish Digital SLRs had a user interface like a modern aircraft's FMS. A screen with line select keys on each side and an enter button, quick easy and intuitive.
4. One more last thought since I'm new at this, an industry standard for displaying histograms in stops (cameras and software), the audio industry always displays amplitude vs. frequency in octaves.
Marc
Marc McCalmont

Ray

Sensors, other thoughts
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2006, 11:46:54 pm »

1. I'm not familiar with the process used to manufacture sensors but I always thought a round sensor would allow me to get all the image from a round lens and I could crop any aspect ratio later when processing the RAW file?

That would be ideal, but you'd have to pay for it. We live in a square world. Square books, square prints, square TV sets, square wafers from which the sensors are cut. (I'm not making a distinction betweeen square and rectangular here, in case someone wants to make an issue of it.)

It boils down to basic economics. Round sensors would involve more wastage and more cost.

2. Since film has a randomness to the silver halide and we are conditioned to seeing that over a lifetime would there be an advantage to a sensor having say 3, 4 and 6 micron photocells arranged in a pseudo random patern like a latin square (sudoku)?