Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Xrite parts  (Read 1225 times)

Jeff-Grant

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 505
    • http://www.jeff-grant.com
Xrite parts
« on: May 13, 2017, 12:36:01 AM »

I think that my problem with my io is the calibration tile. Xrite will replace the part for me at a ridiculous price. Is it possible to buy Xrite parts from any source which would allow me to undo the one screw and replace the tile?
Logged

Rhossydd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2559
    • http://www.paulholman.com
Re: Xrite parts
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2017, 03:28:48 AM »

I've never read of anywhere that sells spares for X-Rite.

What can go wrong with a calibration tile to need replacement ? and what has suggested that it is faulty ?
Logged

Jeff-Grant

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 505
    • http://www.jeff-grant.com
Re: Xrite parts
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2017, 03:37:06 AM »

I've never read of anywhere that sells spares for X-Rite.

What can go wrong with a calibration tile to need replacement ? and what has suggested that it is faulty ?

I haven't either, hence the question. My i1io fails diagnostics at the point of calibration. All movements are fine, it just won't calibrate. If I take the Pro2 and use it with its own plate, it's fine. The diagnostics gives an error message that says 'insufficient light' or something like that. I can't test it for a couple of days so I can't be more specific.

My assumption is that the tile must have faded. Xrite are happy to repair it for close to $A2K for starters. I see that as a tad excessive, hence the question. As I have acquired a DTP 70 for about half that, I would like to resuscitate the io if I can.
Logged

Rhossydd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2559
    • http://www.paulholman.com
Re: Xrite parts
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2017, 04:22:40 AM »

The diagnostics gives an error message that says 'insufficient light' or something like that. .....
My assumption is that the tile must have faded.
My understanding is that the calibration tiles are ceramic and can't fade (well not within our lifetimes and with normal usage).

My guess would be one of two issues;
I'm not familiar with the iO, but if it uses a different cable to the spectro head that might be faulty.
or
The iO is failing to align the measurement head with the tile correctly so it's seeing only a part of the tile .
Logged

Jeff-Grant

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 505
    • http://www.jeff-grant.com
Re: Xrite parts
« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2017, 04:32:07 AM »

The USB cable is in the arm so that's a challenge. I'll check where it is landing when I get back. I didn't know that it was ceramic. I'm not sure that it is on the io. On a Pro, it's quite a chunk but on the io it's a thin wafer. I'll report back next week.
Logged

GWGill

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 376
  • Author of ArgyllCMS & ArgyllPRO ColorMeter
    • ArgyllCMS
Re: Xrite parts
« Reply #5 on: May 13, 2017, 09:29:24 AM »

If I take the Pro2 and use it with its own plate, it's fine. The diagnostics gives an error message that says 'insufficient light' or something like that.

Hmm. That's a symptom of bad USB power to the instrument. The i1Pro2 seems very sensitive to the USB supply voltage dropping on lamp turn on, and any kind of problem with a bad/too long cable, bad USB connector/connection or computer with slightly under nominal USB power, and the i1Pro can misbehave.

Replacing the USB cable and/or using a contact cleaning spray may be a path to a solution.
Logged

Jeff-Grant

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 505
    • http://www.jeff-grant.com
Re: Xrite parts
« Reply #6 on: May 13, 2017, 05:54:43 PM »

Thanks. The cable is long but well within the USB spec. I'll try it on a short one. Would a powered hub at the end of the cable near the io be a good idea?
Logged

daicehawk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
Re: Xrite parts
« Reply #7 on: May 13, 2017, 07:43:09 PM »

Hmm. That's a symptom of bad USB power to the instrument. The i1Pro2 seems very sensitive to the USB supply voltage dropping on lamp turn on, and any kind of problem with a bad/too long cable, bad USB connector/connection or computer with slightly under nominal USB power, and the i1Pro can misbehave.

Replacing the USB cable and/or using a contact cleaning spray may be a path to a solution.
Hi Graeme, it seems that i1pro 2 seems to overal a facelift blows-and-whistles trendy WORSE unit overal compared to i1pro? They claim 300 or 400 cd/m2 ceiling measured luminosity although I have put mine to direct sun reflected on ceramic building walls recording if I recall correctly over 30000 cd/m2 with no damage and stable dark measurements after that. Not that I would recommend it but still...
Logged

GWGill

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 376
  • Author of ArgyllCMS & ArgyllPRO ColorMeter
    • ArgyllCMS
Re: Xrite parts
« Reply #8 on: May 14, 2017, 07:49:28 PM »

Hi Graeme, it seems that i1pro 2 seems to overal a facelift blows-and-whistles trendy WORSE unit overal compared to i1pro?
Overall I think it is an improvement with regard to measurement, with the wavelength calibration, UV illumination capability, zebra ruler sensor and temperature drift tracking cells.

In other ways a slight step backwards, the power supply sensitivity being one, and (maybe) the incandescent globe being more subject to tungsten accumulation and resulting thermal drift effects that earlier models.
Quote

They claim 300 or 400 cd/m2 ceiling measured luminosity although I have put mine to direct sun reflected on ceramic building walls recording if I recall correctly over 30000 cd/m2 with no damage and stable dark measurements after that. Not that I would recommend it but still...
I got the impression from my testing that full sunlight ambient readings were about the limit for the i1Pro. That's not bad though - the ColorMunki spectro is much more limited, due to it not allowing small integration times.
Logged

Jeff-Grant

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 505
    • http://www.jeff-grant.com
Re: Xrite parts
« Reply #9 on: May 16, 2017, 06:01:52 AM »

I just got a chance to test with my old i1Pro. It passes diagnostics on the io. The Pro 2 does not. I'll try again in the morning on a short cord. The io is currently connected on a longish cord. Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.
Logged

Jeff-Grant

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 505
    • http://www.jeff-grant.com
Re: Xrite parts
« Reply #10 on: May 16, 2017, 11:03:45 PM »

This morning I tested the IO with the i1Pro and i1Pro2 attached via the supplied USB cable. Again, the Pro 2 fails while the Pro passes diagnostics.I then tried different cables, and also with a powered hub but the Pro2 fails always and the Pro works.

I'll try to find another Pro2 for a test. If it fails, I could safely assume that my Pro2 is the problem.
Logged

Jeff-Grant

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 505
    • http://www.jeff-grant.com
Re: Xrite parts
« Reply #11 on: May 24, 2017, 04:31:28 AM »

I got my hands on another Pro2 this afternoon. It happily passes diagnostics on the io2. I think that I can now safely assume that my iPro2 is the culprit.
Logged

Ethan Hansen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 47
    • Dry Creek Photo
Re: Xrite parts
« Reply #12 on: June 06, 2017, 08:28:41 PM »

Two possibilities come to mind: The USB cable and/or connector as Graeme mentions or your i1Pro needs a new lamp. In either case you should not need a new tile. Checking the connector and cable requires disassembling the i1Pro and likely voiding any remaining warranty. Replacing the lamp is expensive.

If you can coax measurements out of your i1Pro 2 using Argyll or ColorPort, compare measurements to those you get with another instrument. If most values from your i1Pro are low (2+ dE), in comparison, a new lamp is needed.

Jeff-Grant

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 505
    • http://www.jeff-grant.com
Re: Xrite parts
« Reply #13 on: June 06, 2017, 08:47:28 PM »

Thanks Ethan. I'm picking up a new i1Pro2 today so I'll test one against the other and report back.
Logged

Jeff-Grant

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 505
    • http://www.jeff-grant.com
Re: Xrite parts
« Reply #14 on: June 07, 2017, 02:31:15 AM »

I tried a Fogra 84 patch set with the new i1Pro2 on the io and the old on the hand scanning doozy. The differences are pretty much what one would expect. I'm now left with the innards of the old Pro2 as being wrong in some way when it is on the io.
Logged

GWGill

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 376
  • Author of ArgyllCMS & ArgyllPRO ColorMeter
    • ArgyllCMS
Re: Xrite parts
« Reply #15 on: June 07, 2017, 08:15:35 PM »

I tried a Fogra 84 patch set with the new i1Pro2 on the io and the old on the hand scanning doozy. The differences are pretty much what one would expect. I'm now left with the innards of the old Pro2 as being wrong in some way when it is on the io.
The fact that the two instruments agree to within repeatability error still hints that it is a connector/power problem. Hard to be sure though, and if so might be impossible to fix in a reliable fashion, short of swapping the USB connector in the instrument. (That's something I'd try if it was mine - but then I'm an EE :-).
Logged

Jeff-Grant

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 505
    • http://www.jeff-grant.com
Re: Xrite parts
« Reply #16 on: June 07, 2017, 08:47:40 PM »

You should start a repair service. It wouldn't be hard to beat Xrite's price. The USB setup inside the device is the only thing that I haven't changed. I've now tried three i1P2, two work and my old one doesn't. I'm now trying to swap my licence from one to the other, yet another challenge with such a well documented system.

« Last Edit: June 07, 2017, 10:00:55 PM by Jeff-Grant »
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up