Equipment & Techniques > Beginner's Questions

What kind of camera do I need for 4x7 FT. gallery quality prints? (Newbie here)

(1/5) > >>

1_Beatnikblake:
I am looking to print on canvas. I need gallery quality.(whatever that means) close up viewing? Thats 4x7.1 ft/(16:9 porportion). 100 megapixels as a base start? From my limited understanding the buffer zones include the quality of photo i capture and what can be done in photoshop. Where do i start?!

BradSmith:
Are you new/unfamiliar with cameras and current digital technologies including printing?  If so, this is a very ambitious project. 

Here's a beginning of thinking about your needs.  At least how I would think about it.
You should have at least 150 pixels per inch for a solid looking image on canvas.  That means an image that 48" x 150 pixels/" equals 7200 pixels in width.  And 84" x 150 pixels/" equals 12,600 pixels in the long dimension.  That is approximately 90 megapixels.  If you want to produce your image from a single shot, then you'll need a camera with a sensor that has those dimensions at a minimum.  I say "at a minimum" to allow for some cropping.  There are no Canon, Nikon, or Sony dslr's that meet those specs.  That means you need medium format cameras/sensors.  The current Phase One, XF 100MP camera gets you close @ 11,600 x 8,700.  I just saw an ad for one of these with an 80mm lens for $38,000. As I said, a very ambitious project. 

Most of us here would "stitch" together multiple photos (in Photoshop) each with a lower resolution, taken with a much much lower priced camera/lens combo to get the same number of pixels in the final image.  If this is your preferred route, post a reply clarifying your path and others may chime in with info on stitching. Remember, Google is your friend.  There are many on-line tutorials regarding image stitching.

Brad

1_Beatnikblake: