Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Is a Photoshop user just a chef?  (Read 14325 times)

Ray

Is a Photoshop user just a chef?
« on: August 10, 2006, 11:31:25 pm »

I was recently looking at some Photoshop tutorials on DVD which I'd picked up in Bangkok, a bit cheap I admit. But for some reason, I find them rather boring. It reminded me of those ubiquitous, 'ever so popular' cooking programs one gets on TV. A bit of Basil here, a bit of Thyme there, a pinch of salt, an ounce of butter and a dash of pepper etc etc.

I'm beginning to feel I'm a visual cook, catering to the esthetic eye rather than the well trained olfactory and taste-bud palette.

I mean, I could spend the rest of my life re-hashing, re-doing, modifying, altering, improving, enhancing, reconverting, stitching etc. etc. the images I already have, without taking another single photo.

Whatever print I produced just 3 years ago, I now feel to be inadequate. I'm confident I can now go back to the RAW image and perhaps by just using Raw Shooter instead of ACR, do a better job, not to mention a few other techniques I might have picked up in Photoshop in the meantime.

When is a photographic work of art really complete?

Peter McLennan

« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2006, 11:46:07 pm »

Good question.  I believe it's a common saying in the art world to state that it takes two to create art.  One to do it and one to tell the artist that "It's done".

I feel the same, Ray.  Every time I use Photoshop I think I learn something new about photography.  

And that's a good thing.

Peter

BernardLanguillier

• http://www.flickr.com/photos/bernardlanguillier/sets/
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2006, 01:18:35 am »

I feel that each piece an artisit create is relevant at the time of its capture.

It is made of of mood, inspiration, circumpstances and technical limitations of the medium and of the artist himself.