Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Fuji Hvlp and BC Timeless Glossy  (Read 1510 times)

barry685

• http://www.barrystudios.com
Fuji Hvlp and BC Timeless Glossy
« on: March 27, 2017, 10:02:40 am »

I have a Fuji Super 4 Special edition compressor with a Fuji spray gun. Im not sure what model the gun is,  but it is not a gravity feed model and is discontinued. The Spray nozzle is gold and says Fuji 4H on it. I have no experience with this equipment. I have been trying to spray BC Lyve matte canvas with timeless gloss, and so far I am not getting good results. Generally spray is to dry and not glossy enough.
Do I have the right nozzle? Can someone suggest a starting position for the front nozzle control and the rear knob (amount of turns)?

Thanks

Malcolm Payne

Re: Fuji Hvlp and BC Timeless Glossy
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2017, 01:35:44 pm »

Hi Barry,

The 4H nozzle is fine. Try the following settings as a starting point (I have the Fuji 4 Gold, so they should be very similar for you):

Airflow valve on the hose connector: open about 60 - 70 degrees
Front nozzle spray adjuster: fully open (full fan pattern), or nearly so; you want about an 8" width at 8" from the canvas.
Rear knob: about 1.25 - 1.5 turns open from fully closed (there's about a quarter of a turn before anything happens, so about 1 - 1.25 turns of spray)
Warm the Timeless to ca. 40 deg. C in a water bath.

I pin the canvas to a board about 15 degrees off the vertical, then spray one horizontal pass with the gun about 8" from the canvas, at 4" intervals at a speed of about 1 ft/sec, turn the nozzle through 90 degrees and repeat as a vertical pass, then reset the nozzle for a second horizontal pass offset from the first by 2".

Allow to dry to touch dry, then repeat for a second coat, again offsetting the passes from the first coat to get an even coverage. You may need to open the rear knob by a further 0.25 - 0.5 turns on the second coat if it's not quite wet enough.