Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: HP Z3200 Windows: Need help using Custom Sizes  (Read 183 times)

Peter McLennan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2060
HP Z3200 Windows: Need help using Custom Sizes
« on: March 20, 2017, 02:53:48 PM »

Brand new HP 3200Z Photo.  Connected via LAN to Windows 10 using PCL3.  Attempting (and failing) to use Custom Sizes printing from Photoshop CC.

It's only custom sizes that are not working.  Everything else seems fine. I've created, installed and profiled a custom media ("Microceramic Lustre" 44" roll media) in the HP Print Settings dialog. My custom profile for that paper also appears in PSCC's print dialog, so that part of the system is working.  It's only custom sizes that is problematic.

I seem to be able to instruct the HP component of the printer driver to use the custom paper size of 22W 42L.  The results of which look like this:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/8akaf71lorcbvmn/Screenshot%202017-03-19%2009.46.45.png?dl=0

When I choose "Document Size/More/Custom and select my saved Custom Size, the graphic in HP Document Properties immediately changes to reflect the new size and orientation as expected.

However when I return to the PS Print dialog, these settings to not transfer to PS.  I get this:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/zlovarevf4yv9hh/Screenshot%202017-03-19%2009.47.14.png?dl=0

And when I go back to the HP Document Properties, the Custom Size settings have all reverted to letter size.

In other words, it seems that the HP Print Settings and the Photoshop Print dialog aren't talking to each other.

The prints I have made on this same media using the HP canned sizes work fine.

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks!
Peter
Logged

Mark Lindquist

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1070
  • itís not about the photos we take - itís the ones we leave
Re: HP Z3200 Windows: Need help using Custom Sizes
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2017, 04:39:30 AM »

Peter, please make a screenshot of your custom size saved paper preset, and one of the print settings dialog box.
Very difficult to tell what's happening. Perhaps the screenshots will give a clue.
If you can, show each step in your process with the printing boxes.

As a general rule, when something is not working right, HP advocates shutting down the printer, unplugging, waiting a few minutes, then restarting.  Same with your computer.

I've heard that Windows 10 works well for some, but not for others.

Assume first that it is pilot error, then I guess, suspect the driver.  Does the same issue happen with the PS driver?

I'd say, generally, add new printers with previous version drivers to see if you can trobleshoot the HP driver to see if it is on the HP side or the Photoshop side. 

-Mark

Peter McLennan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2060
Re: HP Z3200 Windows: Need help using Custom Sizes
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2017, 06:33:48 PM »

Edited.  Deleted.
« Last Edit: March 21, 2017, 08:45:04 PM by Peter McLennan »
Logged

Peter McLennan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2060
Re: HP Z3200 Windows: Need help using Custom Sizes
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2017, 07:33:48 PM »

SOLVED. Photoshop bug, according to the HP tech who remote-accessed my system, installed a new Postscript driver and showed me how to use it.

Two days wasted. Thanks, Adobe. :(

And REAL thanks, HP. :)
Logged

chris Johnston

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
Re: HP Z3200 Windows: Need help using Custom Sizes
« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2017, 10:09:09 AM »

I too recently purchased a Z3200ps September last year. Compared to my Epson 7900 its interface and software is horrible.  I too was using Windows 10, but discovered there are some serious issues between the printer software and Windows 10, as a result I bought a new Hard Drive, reinstalled Win 7 64bit pro.  I have been very frustrated by my inability to customize the printing process and layout. particularly with the printers insistence of pushing images righto the margins. I have now started using the canvas setting in PS to add a 30mm border all the way around. Are you familiar with HP Designjet Click software??

Fundamentally it is a very good printer, for me here in Namibia the fact that it is a true inkjet and not the thermal head design of Epson has been a godsend, not one single plug or need to run a cleaning cycle in the 6 months I have had it, not one. The accounting software is also great.

I've had my struggles, let me know if I can help.
C
Logged

Peter McLennan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2060
Re: HP Z3200 Windows: Need help using Custom Sizes
« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2017, 12:21:29 PM »

I too recently purchased a Z3200ps September last year. Compared to my Epson 7900 its interface and software is horrible.

Thanks for your offer of help, Chris.  It looks like I'm going to need it. It appears that most users of this printer are Mac based, not Windows.

Agreed.  The printer driver software is awful.  After the HP chat tech finally got the driver to utilize custom sizes, I attempted an across-the-roll image of about 42 by 20.  Despite the image in the HP and PSCC print previews, the driver rotated the image and printed it lengthwise.  Goodbye $20 worth of media.

Also, the Postscript driver that the HP guy installed is 8 bit.  Still not sure yet how much difference that will make on print.

Quote
Are you familiar with HP Designjet Click software??
No.  I'll check it out.

Quote
Fundamentally it is a very good printer, for me here in Namibia the fact that it is a true inkjet and not the thermal head design of Epson has been a godsend, not one single plug or need to run a cleaning cycle in the 6 months I have had it, not one. The accounting software is also great.

Good to hear.  So far, I've had little success.

Quote
I've had my struggles, let me know if I can help.

Again, thank you.  To save boring the rest of the forum, I'll PM you.
Logged

Ernst Dinkla

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3392
Re: HP Z3200 Windows: Need help using Custom Sizes
« Reply #6 on: March 23, 2017, 01:16:29 PM »

Thanks for your offer of help, Chris.  It looks like I'm going to need it. It appears that most users of this printer are Mac based, not Windows.

Agreed.  The printer driver software is awful.  After the HP chat tech finally got the driver to utilize custom sizes, I attempted an across-the-roll image of about 42 by 20.  Despite the image in the HP and PSCC print previews, the driver rotated the image and printed it lengthwise.  Goodbye $20 worth of media.

Also, the Postscript driver that the HP guy installed is 8 bit.  Still not sure yet how much difference that will make on print.
No.  I'll check it out.

Good to hear.  So far, I've had little success.

Again, thank you.  To save boring the rest of the forum, I'll PM you.

Get Qimage Ultimate to have a more versatile application to print from. Windows native too. Some users like me are on the Qimage Ultimate forum to help Z3200 users get the best from that combination.

The HP Z3200-PS measures the physical width of the paper coming from the roll. It shows that width in the driver and sometimes it is some mm less than the 36" or 44" roll should have been. If your print page width just fitted in the 16" roll width minus 2 times the 5mm print margin (PCL3 driver)  then it will turn the print page within a roll that is only 1mm less wide. With PCL3  I always use a print page that is 1116 mm instead of the 1118 mm that a 44" roll width suggests, and 913 mm instead of 914 for 36" roll.

However a 42" print page should fit on a 44" roll without issues, on a 42" roll it will not fit in normal printing mode, about 0.4" is lost in print margins. On gloss papers a borderless mode makes it possible but again a physical smaller roll size might create problems. I seldom use borderless.


Met vriendelijke groet, Ernst

http://www.pigment-print.com/spectralplots/spectrumviz_1.htm
March 2017 update, 750+ inkjet media white spectral plots
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up