Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Styles - What is the correct approach for generic automated import?  (Read 1509 times)

LikesToys

I am new to C1 (coming from Lightroom (LR) with advanced techniques).  I would appreciate experienced advice in setting up an IMPORT Style preset for C1.  As this default would be used to import from Canon 5DsR and 5D IV using a variety of Canon/Zeiss lenses - some of which have C1 defined Lens Profiles and some lenses do not have profiles.  As well I use Canon 1.4 and 2x Extenders - in LR they had their own Lens Profiles.   I would like to set up a default import preset - likely though a Style.

Here are my questions - and I admit I may be going off half caulked on this so please feel free to reset my thinking:

1) Is it appropriate to set up these adjustments as a import preset (I think through a Style): CA and High Dynamic Range, Levels, my own Curve, a bit of Clarity and Structure, sharpening and Noise reduction. 

2) Would you add anything else/ take out?  Is there a better way to do all of this?

3) for lenses that don't have a Lens Profile how do I handle the "auto" feature.  I don't want to have to press it each time.

I am asking this because I want to set up a generic import to mimic what I had to do in LR.  In LR I customized default import settings for Lightroom and Camera Raw for Negative Files by Camera Serial Number and ISO.  This is required because LR has poor defaults for sharpening and Noise reduction and toning.  C1 appears far superior but is somewhat 'reserved' in its default settings (perhaps I am wrong on this?).  Is it even appropriate to mess with the standard C1 sharpening and noise defaults?

Thanks for any help.

Jeff

af_ahoy

Re: Styles - What is the correct approach for generic automated import?
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2017, 10:14:02 am »