Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Quadtone RIP Printer set up  (Read 516 times)

graeme

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 817
Quadtone RIP Printer set up
« on: March 09, 2017, 06:33:48 PM »

Iíve downloaded Quadtone RIP but am having trouble setting up the printer. The printer is an Epson 1500W which I've loaded with Farbenwerk Carbonprint BW inks

Thereís no option for the 1500w / Farbenwerk inkset so I tried the 'Install1430-MIS=1400.commandí ( I believe that the 1500W is identical to the 1430 & have been advised that the Farbenwerk inkset is very similar the the MIS one). I got this message:

'Cannot find an Epson USB or Bonjour printer with the name 1430

The printer must be turned on, plugged in to computer and ready
Resetting the printer may be necessary.

The firewire port cannot be used for QuadToneRIP.  If you are already using
firewire you must switch over to USB.  Do not plug in both USB and firewire.

For network printers, please enter an IPP address for your printer.
The address is a 4 part number such as 192.38.103.34
Enter IPP number or <return> to cancel: '


I got the same result when I tried 'Install1400-MIS.commandí.

Iím using OS X Yosemite.

Advice appreciated as always.
Logged

Jeff-Grant

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 434
    • http://www.jeff-grant.com
Re: Quadtone RIP Printer set up
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2017, 06:53:41 PM »

I don't know about the MIS part but you need to change the 1430 to 1500W. That bit identifies the printer name on the Mac.
Logged

graeme

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 817
Re: Quadtone RIP Printer set up
« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2017, 11:59:18 AM »

I don't know about the MIS part but you need to change the 1430 to 1500W. That bit identifies the printer name on the Mac.

Thanks for the reply Jeff.

Would I change the 1430 to 1500 by changing the Terminal command:

#!/bin/sh
# call the main install script -- $0 contains directory and printer name
#   as in Install1430-K6=1400

/Library/Printers/QTR/bin/quadinstall $0

to

#!/bin/sh
# call the main install script -- $0 contains directory and printer name
#   as in Install1500-K6=1400

/Library/Printers/QTR/bin/quadinstall $0

Sorry if this is a dumb question, I normally keep well away from command line stuff.

Cheers

Graeme
Logged

Jeff-Grant

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 434
    • http://www.jeff-grant.com
Re: Quadtone RIP Printer set up
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2017, 03:23:42 PM »

You change the name of the command itself. There is a command: Install1430-MIS=1400 which you change to Install1500W-MIS=1400. Nothing within the command text needs to be changed.
Logged

Jeff-Grant

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 434
    • http://www.jeff-grant.com
Re: Quadtone RIP Printer set up
« Reply #4 on: March 10, 2017, 03:42:59 PM »

As you are on a Mac, you also need to use PrintTool. The reason is a long and tortuous story which you can find on the QTR forum. It's much simpler to just use it.
Logged

graeme

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 817
Re: Quadtone RIP Printer set up
« Reply #5 on: March 10, 2017, 06:19:12 PM »

You change the name of the command itself. There is a command: Install1430-MIS=1400 which you change to Install1500W-MIS=1400. Nothing within the command text needs to be changed.

Thank you Jeff, I'll try that tomorrow.

Graeme
Logged

graeme

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 817
Re: Quadtone RIP Printer set up
« Reply #6 on: March 10, 2017, 06:20:51 PM »

As you are on a Mac, you also need to use PrintTool. The reason is a long and tortuous story which you can find on the QTR forum. It's much simpler to just use it.

Thanks again - I'll take your word on that.

Graeme
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up