Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: camera with reliable tethering - your experience  (Read 1131 times)

orc73

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 318
camera with reliable tethering - your experience
« on: January 22, 2017, 09:45:55 PM »

hello

this question is for heavy studio users.
Which camera did you have a reliable connection for tethering?
I had big problems with h4d40 and sl(both with native software and cables).
I mean not just taking a few shots but all day commercial shooting.

How about nikon d750/d810and canon 5dm3/4?

best regards
Logged

Rado

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 62
Re: camera with reliable tethering - your experience
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2017, 06:02:31 AM »

I regularly shoot my Canons (6D,7D2) tethered to C1 for hours without any problems whatsoever (it helps to disable the auto-sleep timer on the camera)
Logged

douglevy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 231
    • New England Wedding Photographer Doug Levy
Re: camera with reliable tethering - your experience
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2017, 05:40:21 PM »

I shoot tethered frequently (I prefer to if I can), and have found most problems can be traced to the software, cable, computer, then camera, in that order. In the last 2 years alone I've tethered with a H1, H5X, D810, D4, D5 and 5D3 without issues with Capture One. Lightroom? Tons of issues.

BobShaw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 865
    • Aspiration Images
Re: camera with reliable tethering - your experience
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2017, 12:49:21 AM »

I assume you were tethered to Phocus and not Capture One.
The usual culprit is the Firewire cable.
I use H3DII no problem.
Logged
Website - http://AspirationImages.com
Blog - http://AspirationImages.com/blog
Photography, Custom Framing and Printing, Sydney Australia

Dinarius

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 927
    • Denis Mortell Photography
Re: camera with reliable tethering - your experience
« Reply #4 on: March 06, 2017, 05:01:13 AM »

I use a H3D ll 39ms to Phocus/MacBook Pro - no problem with all day multi-shot shooting.

I also use a 5D MkIV capturing to Canon's software, also on the MacBook Pro, and USB 3. Again, no problem. Incredibly fast, actually.

All processing is then done on PC, though, not Mac.

D.
Logged

LikesToys

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: camera with reliable tethering - your experience
« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2017, 11:29:32 AM »

I use both Canon 5DsR and 5DIV without problems however I found it required that I did not run Canons EOS Utility at the same time.  I tether 1000 shots or so every week.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up