Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: OVF MF bodies...  (Read 2320 times)

BernardLanguillier

• http://www.flickr.com/photos/bernardlanguillier/sets/
OVF MF bodies...
« on: January 20, 2017, 04:28:16 pm »

Considering the X1D and more importantly the Fuji, I am wondering whether the XF and H6D as bodies still make any sense at all for pro work.

The superior AF of the EVF bodies will result in the 50mp sensor delivering more real world resolution in 99% cases compared to poorly focused 100mp images.

This pretty much leaves only static subjects such as landscape, architecture or product where tech cameras are the preferred optin anyway.

The XF and H6D, and more importantly the matching lenses, very much look like a dead end to me.

As an amateur I still far prefer the shooting experience of the H6D optical viewfinder, but this is about fun, not about productivity.

Now, many XF and H6D owners are non pros, but considering their average age outside China, I believe that the appeal of lghter EVF bodies will soon over write the fun of the great OVFs. The amateurs will buy a X1D or Fuji along their XF/H6D and stop buying any P1/Schneider or HC lenses. They will buy one or two more lenses for their tech camera to benefit a bit more from their 100mp sensor bought at high cost... and will hardly ever use their XF/H6D body and lenses.

Few pros will continue to use those also due to the much higher consistency of EVF AF.

Thoughs?

Cheers,
Bernard

P.s.: coming from a H6D-100c owner.

E.J. Peiker

• http://www.ejphoto.com
Re: OVF MF bodies...
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2017, 04:34:58 pm »