Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Loss of saturation after Topaz Denoise 6  (Read 2180 times)

cortlander

Loss of saturation after Topaz Denoise 6
« on: January 19, 2017, 08:55:51 pm »

Recently I started scanning some very old slides, memories from long ago, with an Epson 850 and Silverfast 8 AI Studio, inspired by Mark Segal's excellent write ups. After scanning, I brought the TIFF files into capture one 10, and as a first step opened them into Topaz photoFxLab and from there to Topaz DeNoise 6. I used a light setting of about 0.10 in Luma, and it did a decent job of cleaning up the noise. The colors at this point looked fine too. However, when I saved them back to Capture One, the file from DeNoise seemed to have lost quite a bit of saturation.

I am attaching downscaled files (original scan was about 170 MB). I am new to Topaz DeNoise and any suggestions would be much appreciated.

Best,
cortlander

kirkt

Re: Loss of saturation after Topaz Denoise 6
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2017, 09:44:45 pm »

The before and after you posted looks a lot like an image that starts in a larger color space (like ProPhoto) and somewhere along the line gets *assigned* a smaller color space (like sRGB).  I wonder if there is something going on in your workflow that is altering the color interpretation.  If I just grab your sRGB "before" image, open it in PS and run it through DeNoise (via the PS plug in), there is no difference in color - but that may not be representative of the treatment of your original image file.

Can you post a link to download a reduced res version of the original scan?  What color profile tag is embedded in it?

kirk

Bart_van_der_Wolf

« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2017, 04:59:11 am »