Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Optimizing print sharpness using Qimage  (Read 7015 times)

Damon Lynch

• http://www.damonlynch.net
Optimizing print sharpness using Qimage
« on: December 30, 2016, 03:59:11 pm »

I'm new to Qimage. I want to use it to optimise print sharpness. For the purposes of discussion, let's assume the image to be printed has carefully gone through the following workflow, maximizing sharpness:
  • Capture sharpening with Piccure+, Topaz InFocus or Lightroom
  • Image adjustment with a combination of Lightroom, Topaz Detail, Topaz Clarity, and Nik Color Efex's Pro Contrast
What Qimage's sharpening setting do you experienced Qimage users tend to use? Do you tend to use the same setting for almost all images, or vary it by what image you're printing and what paper you're printing on?

For an upcoming project I'm going to be printing a bunch of colour prints on 12"x12" (30.5cm x 30.5cm) Hahnemuhle Photo Rag Pearl using a Canon Pro-1000. Most pics will be from an 18 megapixel camera, the Canon 1D X. Given the square format, some will be crops of vertical images--hardly ideal, but such is life.

Denis de Gannes

Re: Optimizing print sharpness using Qimage
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2016, 04:56:20 pm »

The link below is to the video tutorials on Qimage Ultimate. There is one there that explains the Deep Focus Sharpening available in Qimage. This is a creative sharpening feature.

With Qimage when you send an image to print at a particular size Qimage will automatically upsize the data being sent to the printer driver (this is all done non-destructively) and the original image file is not changed. Depending to the amount of resizing done you can then select the amount "print sharpening" to be applied or allow Qimage to apply it automatically.

http://www.ddisoftware.com/qimage-u/learn.htm

The screen capture shows the dialog box for choosing the print sharpening.
« Last Edit: December 30, 2016, 05:27:34 pm by Denis de Gannes »