Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Pano Prints: Storing, De-Rolling, and Shipping  (Read 2192 times)

drralph

• Ralph's Instagram
Pano Prints: Storing, De-Rolling, and Shipping
« on: November 23, 2016, 08:00:13 am »

I have been shooting panos for a few years, but only now am acquiring a printer capable of printing them at substantial size.  I am at a loss to decide how to store such prints.  As much as I would love a large, custom print case so I could store them flat, I am space challenged.  I am considering storing them rolled, and am wondering if this will create terminal curling issues.  I could potentially find a spot for flat storage if it were possible to do this vertically, particularly if the box is light and portable.

I am interested in the experience of the group on the best way to ship a pano print to a client.

I will also be using roll paper for the first time.  I have seen the pricy de-rollers like the D&K, and wonder if something like that is worth the investment.  D&K De-Roller  Could I do just as well making something out of a mailing tube, or core of a paper roll? 

howardm

Re: Pano Prints: Storing, De-Rolling, and Shipping
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2016, 08:19:05 am »

I've heard of a number of people using some 3-4" diameter PVC pipe and a shower curtain.

When I bought sheet pano paper from RedRiver, it came in a shortened 12" (?) diameter Sonotube (the kind you get at Lowe's for pouring concrete) w/ plastic endcaps.

BobDavid

« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2016, 08:44:04 am »

I have a a 50" Bienfang De-Roller. I'll sell it for $50 plus shipping. It works really well on cotton rag paper, though it isn't good for alpha cellulose paper. I use a dry mount press for flattening prints.

DeanChriss

• http://www.dmcphoto.com
« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2016, 08:53:55 am »