Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: Innocent  (Read 9977 times)

BobDavid

Innocent
« on: November 21, 2016, 01:38:09 am »

So I am working on a series of photos on substations. Nothing serious, just for the fun of it. Early yesterday, about an hour into the shoot, the LAW stops by to investigate. A deputy asked me to explain myself. I asked if I was trespassing. She said no. I asked if I was breaking the law. She said no. I then said I am taking pictures of the substation. She asked me why. I told her that I am an artist and that I think substations are interesting. ... She asked to see my license. I reminded her that I was not trespassing nor was I breaking the law as she had just confirmed. I remained calm and polite. She told me she was becoming impatient. I agreed I was too. I asserted that I was not breaking the law. She did not back down. I contemplated for a moment or two on what to do. On the one hand, I wasn't doing anything wrong. On the other hand, I didn't want to get shot. So I showed her my ID. She went back into her squad car. A colleague pulled up in an unmarked vehicle. I took several pictures of them. Unfortunately, my telephoto lens was not handy. ... Later, I telephoned the Sheriff's department and asked to speak to the deputy's sergeant. I explained that I take pictures of substations. I mentioned that I would be photographing another substation later this week--preferably at night. I told him which one. He said that particular one is out of the county's jurisdiction. He was most cordial. ... I emailed him a few samples of my artwork. I offered to send the deputy who investigated me a signed 8" X 10" print. Starting now, I think I will inform law enforcement as to my whereabouts when I go out photographing, especially during nighttime. I've been stopped several times now.
« Last Edit: November 21, 2016, 12:53:29 pm by BobDavid »

stamper

Re: Innocent
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2016, 02:48:33 am »