Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: E-M1 Or Pen-F  (Read 5357 times)

Kevin Gallagher

E-M1 Or Pen-F
« on: November 17, 2016, 04:14:41 pm »

Hi all, I've been happily shooting the E-M1 for a couple of years since deciding my Nikon gear was just getting TOO heavy. A friend is looking into the E-M1 (the current version of course) and has asked me my thoughts on the PEN-F model as well. Since I've no experience with it, it seems a good idea to put the question to the LULA denizens about the advantages/disadvantages of each. I can see the PEN has a 20MP sensor compared to 16MP on the M1 but beyond that I'm clueless. He does like to shoot landscapes and other general types of shooting but is not inclined to be going off into the wilds to find subjects. Truthfully, I'd also be most interested to hear opinions about the differences between the two.

Thanks,

Kevin in CT
Kevin In CT
All Animals Are Equal But Some Are More Equal
 George Orwell

Mousecop

Re: E-M1 Or Pen-F
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2016, 04:54:44 pm »

I own both. Either will do the job, it's hard to go wrong.

16mp vs 20mp sensor makes no difference. I use them interchangeably, I don't notice any difference. You can make a slightly bigger print... big whoop

E-M1 is weather-sealed, has a built-in grip, excellent ergonomics, slightly better C-AF. It's better for larger lenses, tilt screen. There may still be superb deal on the E-M1 + 12-40mm ($1200), I don't expect that to last. If he's looking at zooms, that alone makes E-M1 a no-brainer.

The Pen-F is a bit more about style rather than substance. If you like the retro style, it's insanely great, the build quality is stupendous, the feel of the dials is superb. The EVF is smaller, I prefer it because that makes it a tad crisper. It has a FAS.