Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Down

Author Topic: i am so sick of the printing module...  (Read 8893 times)

CeeVee

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 67
Re: i am so sick of the printing module...
« Reply #20 on: November 21, 2016, 06:29:15 AM »

I think there was a change in the way the OS (Mac & Win) interact with Adobe's print modukes. I think it came into being with a security upgrade. If you look at the Printer Properties at the OS level and outside of LR or PS there is a basic default size/type and it should be whatever you use the most but may not be.
A Printer Driver, if it's behaving properly should overwrite these settings as "Software Commands Hardware" ... well maybe. If you just happen to switch printers or inherit a file that somebody else printed I have found that my results can go sideways NOW. Apparently a "feature"(?) added to the OS, as above, retains the last printer info and thus the results are literally waste.
With Photoshop I have found that to get a reliable print from an image dug out of our library, ie previously printed, I need to dupe the canvas size and drag the image layer(s) to new new canvas. Reset the printer characteristics for the new file and then print. A real PITA, but-it-is-what-it-is.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Tapatalk

Logged

orc73

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 318
Re: i am so sick of the printing module...
« Reply #21 on: December 14, 2016, 09:45:36 AM »

I know this is not a helpful post: I just wonder how printer companies can survive. 20 years gone and still it;s such a mess with printer drivers on computers.
Logged

Jimmy D Uptain

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 222
Re: i am so sick of the printing module...
« Reply #22 on: December 20, 2016, 07:06:58 AM »

I had the same issues as you except on a 7900. Like Bart, I went with a third party printing app, Mirage Print. The issues disappeared.
There is another app called PrinTao that I have played with in the past. Its quite a bit cheaper than Mirage. It worked well and actually had features that Mirage didn't. At the time I was choosing, it didn't support canvas wraps.
So I went with Mirage.
A really cool feature in PrinTao is the ability to cut the paper wherever you like. So if you are printing several photos from a roll and it comes out to about six foot, you can break it up into smaller sections for easier handling.
There are trials for each so it won't cost much except time and paper to try.
One more thing, if you went with Mirage, they offer a LR plugin. It is useless, so don't buy it.


Logged

JRSmit

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 577
    • Jan R. Smit Fine Art Printing Specialist
Re: i am so sick of the printing module...
« Reply #23 on: December 20, 2016, 09:42:33 AM »

I know this is not a helpful post: I just wonder how printer companies can survive. 20 years gone and still it;s such a mess with printer drivers on computers.
Please elaborate. My experience with printer drivers is both windows and mac. Only on Mac it is a pain in the ....
I use LR for printing every day and use templates etc to the max. No issues as reported by the OP.
I use windows.
Logged
Fine art photography: janrsmit.com
Fine Art Printing Specialist: www.fineartprintingspecialist.nl


Jan R. Smit

CeeVee

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 67
Re: i am so sick of the printing module...
« Reply #24 on: December 20, 2016, 11:01:02 AM »

There's a number of discussions on this issue in the Adobe users forum. If you stop and think about it there's more to this than the obvious.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Tapatalk

Logged

BradSmith

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 552
Re: i am so sick of the printing module...
« Reply #25 on: December 20, 2016, 01:31:02 PM »

Please elaborate. My experience with printer drivers is both windows and mac. Only on Mac it is a pain in the ....
I use LR for printing every day and use templates etc to the max. No issues as reported by the OP.
I use windows.

I think the point being made is that after years and years "in the business", printer companies haven't been able to solve the problems that show up for MANY people.....not ALL people.  Sometimes hardware, sometimes incompatible with software.   In general, my previous Eps 3800 was AOK, except once in a while, it would print only half an image.  Just out of the blue.  Random.  Replaced it with an Eps P800.  It occasionally randomly ripped paper in the sheet feeder, would not recognize that there was paper that had been loaded, sometimes would advance the paper and move the print head as normal, then "finish" and eject the print, only there was zero ink applied, and finally, sometimes I'd only get half an image printed.  Just received a warranty replacement.  Hopefully I'll now become one of the fortunate people with no problems. 

Oh, and by the way....I've registered my "professional" products with them telling them what my email is and what OS I use.  Why is it that when they produce a new driver version or firmware I don't get an email notice from them?  Poor business practice. 
Logged

BobShaw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 947
    • Aspiration Images
Re: i am so sick of the printing module...
« Reply #26 on: December 20, 2016, 07:26:06 PM »

I bought Mirage Print the day someone showed me it existed (which was 3 years ago) and have never looked back. Printing from applications and forever making presets are for the birds.
Logged
Website - http://AspirationImages.com
Blog - http://AspirationImages.com/blog
Photography, Custom Framing and Printing, Sydney Australia

zobelaudio

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 25
    • zobeleye.com
Re: i am so sick of the printing module...
« Reply #27 on: December 22, 2016, 02:42:50 PM »

Anybody else has experience with PRINTAO ?
just checking demo of MIRAGE, works fabulously with the 7890, but can't spot a print size for the Hahnemuehle cards on the 3800, so one problem solved, another one created...
cheers
Stephan
Logged

ihv

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 131
    • http://www.flickr.com/ihv
Re: i am so sick of the printing module...
« Reply #28 on: December 23, 2016, 03:35:15 AM »

Hi guys,

Got a P800 few days ago and tried to create print templates in the Print module - how to make the print preset to remember the chosen print profile (a la P800_Premium_Glossy)?
As soon as I do right click update on the chosen preset the print profile just gets empty.

Any ideas? I'm on Win10, with the recent drivers etc.

Thanks!
Logged

stingray

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 106
Re: i am so sick of the printing module...
« Reply #29 on: December 23, 2016, 09:46:21 AM »

Make sure that the Printer Driver Settings / Main / Media has mode set to "Custom  / No Color Adjustment" 

I use the Page SetUp (on the left hand side of the screen) to make any print driver adjustments).


Logged

Jimmy D Uptain

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 222
Re: i am so sick of the printing module...
« Reply #30 on: December 23, 2016, 09:51:02 AM »

Logged

BobShaw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 947
    • Aspiration Images
Re: i am so sick of the printing module...
« Reply #31 on: December 26, 2016, 05:43:57 PM »

I'm not sure if I read your question right, but you can create custom sizes in Mirage. This applies for the print as well as the media.
ditto. In Mirage you just click "Custom" and make any size that you want, even beyond the theoretical maximum of the driver. You can save any regular jobs as a droplet and all them up or drag the file to them.
Logged
Website - http://AspirationImages.com
Blog - http://AspirationImages.com/blog
Photography, Custom Framing and Printing, Sydney Australia

Wayne Fox

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3785
    • waynefox.com
Re: i am so sick of the printing module...
« Reply #32 on: December 27, 2016, 12:37:23 AM »

Hi guys,

Got a P800 few days ago and tried to create print templates in the Print module - how to make the print preset to remember the chosen print profile (a la P800_Premium_Glossy)?
As soon as I do right click update on the chosen preset the print profile just gets empty.

Any ideas? I'm on Win10, with the recent drivers etc.

Thanks!
When you right click the template, you get the contextual menu that offers to update with the current settings?

MarkJohnson

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 87
Re: i am so sick of the printing module...
« Reply #33 on: December 28, 2016, 03:57:54 AM »

When you right click the template, you get the contextual menu that offers to update with the current settings?
On my LR 6.7 (standalone) version, you can't update actual LR templates with current settings but if you right click it and choose 'New Folder' (named as you like) the template will then be in that folder and right clicking it there does give the option of updating it with current settings, after which you can right click and rename as you like.
Logged
Mark J

ihv

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 131
    • http://www.flickr.com/ihv
Re: i am so sick of the printing module...
« Reply #34 on: December 28, 2016, 08:05:02 AM »

Thanks a lot for the ideas! I'm not close to the printer during the holidays but when back I'll let you know what worked.

Sorry for jumping in with not so on topic question.
Logged

ihv

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 131
    • http://www.flickr.com/ihv
Re: i am so sick of the printing module...
« Reply #35 on: January 10, 2017, 01:26:59 PM »

Unfortunately still the same, I also tried to create a new preset folder with no luck.

Please see the animated gif of what happens - when trying to update the print preset with the chosen printer profile, after the update actions the print profile is simply gone:

Logged

MarkJohnson

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 87
Re: i am so sick of the printing module...
« Reply #36 on: January 10, 2017, 03:07:24 PM »

OK, you're not trying to update one of the supplied Lightroom templates, just one of your own. It seems from the gif that you are firstly adjusting the print template settings to your liking and then right clicking on the template name and selecting 'Update with Current Settings', in which case I also don't understand why you can't then see the chosen template displayed under Color Management in the Print Job box, unless it's something to do with it being a (very nice) B&W image, which it shouldn't be if it's simply a B&W conversion in Develop module. I'm sorry not to have been more help.
« Last Edit: January 10, 2017, 03:15:01 PM by MarkJohnson »
Logged
Mark J

Mac Mahon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 132
Re: i am so sick of the printing module...
« Reply #37 on: January 11, 2017, 02:19:45 AM »

- when trying to update the print preset with the chosen printer profile, after the update actions the print profile is simply gone:
I'm on a P800 too, (although MacOS which shouldn't make a difference) and I just tried to amend a user template by changing the printer profile just as in your gif.  Worked perfectly as expected.
Is it something to do with Windows settings for Color Management overiding the app settings?  I find that a minefield on Windows although I concede unfamiliarity!

Logged

kikashi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6065
Re: i am so sick of the printing module...
« Reply #38 on: January 11, 2017, 03:38:58 AM »

Unfortunately still the same, I also tried to create a new preset folder with no luck.

Please see the animated gif of what happens - when trying to update the print preset with the chosen printer profile, after the update actions the print profile is simply gone:

If you were on a Mac, I'd suggest running Disk Utility to repair permissions: it could be that LR is unable to write to the presets file. Is there an equivalent on Windows?

Jeremy
Logged

john beardsworth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3948
    • http://www.beardsworth.co.uk
Re: i am so sick of the printing module...
« Reply #39 on: January 11, 2017, 04:38:26 AM »

....it could be that LR is unable to write to the presets file

That could be tested by seeing if Lr can save a new preset.
Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Up