Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Media Pro SE ( second edition) - Is there anything NEW?  (Read 857 times)

kers

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1638
    • Pieter Kers
Media Pro SE ( second edition) - Is there anything NEW?
« on: November 02, 2016, 12:17:26 PM »

Since some months the Second edition of Media Pro is out.

I have tried the software but could not find anything changed from version one  ( on a MAC)

When i look at the list of NEW Features
https://www.phaseone.com/en/Products/Software/Media-Pro/Features.aspx

and could not find anything NEW ( apart from that old OSX systems are no longer supported)
did somebody find any difference? something improved?

Pieter Kers
Logged
Pieter Kers
www.beeld.nu

myotis

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 186
Re: Media Pro SE ( second edition) - Is there anything NEW?
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2016, 01:41:38 PM »


did somebody find any difference? something improved?

Pieter Kers

Three activations instead of two (though not exactly an improvement in features)

Edits and crops in C1 v9 now shown in MP, as I have only used MP SE (with version 9) I'm not sure what that means except that until this release it was only up to C1 version 8 that was supported.

That latter feature is important to me and worth the upgrade. But not too keen on the idea that maybe every time I upgrade C1, I will also have to upgrade MP, just to get them to work together.

I think that is it, so difficult to argue that its any more than a bug fix.  But at its core, Media Pro is an excellent DAM, so if paying for this bug fix encourages further development,  then I am happy(ish) to pay.

Cheers,

Graham
Logged

kers

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1638
    • Pieter Kers
Re: Media Pro SE ( second edition) - Is there anything NEW?
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2016, 02:02:47 PM »

Graham thank you for your reply;

I am a long time user ( i view media) and use it as little local catalogues in side each assignment folder.
I do not use it in combination with C1 for is have a nikon camera and use Photoshop ACR.

What would make me upgrade is if it could recognized PSB files.
At the moment they are not even seen as images.
I cannot understand that i am alone in this.
If you have a two layer 100MP document it already has to saved as a PSB-file.



Logged
Pieter Kers
www.beeld.nu

myotis

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 186
Re: Media Pro SE ( second edition) - Is there anything NEW?
« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2016, 02:25:05 PM »

What would make me upgrade is if it could recognized PSB files.
At the moment they are not even seen as images.

Its difficult to work out what Phase One is doing with Media Pro, as even with Capture One its a bit of a work around to get it to integrate.

Good as it is, and its incredible to think about how old it is, and how little it has changed over the years, it is still needing a bit of an update.

I am hoping that updates will  happen and that MP won't just disappear when Phase think the cataloging in Capture One is "good enough"  for it to be no longer required.

There aren't all that many alternatives to Media Pro.

Cheers,

Graham

Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up